Jump to content



Photo

Thinking of a video card upgrade

video card gpu

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ergit3000

ergit3000

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Monterrey, Mexico

Posted 29 June 2013 - 16:19

Hello guys,

 

I'm thinking of upgrade my old Ati Radeon 5770 with a new Nvidia Gtx 760 (New on market in June 25-13), but I´m not sure if my actual psu http://www.corsair.com/us/vx550w.htmll could handle it, because i read I need two 6 pin connectors for these new generation video cards

 

Someone with more experience could tell me if my psu would work?? and also what do you think about my gpu election, or tell me pls if you have another suggestion? my budget is around $250-$300 usd...

 

thank you very much!  :)




#2 OP ergit3000

ergit3000

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Monterrey, Mexico

Posted 29 June 2013 - 16:44

Well, Ill answer to myself, I keep checking and i saw that cards came with adapters for convert cables to the 6 pin necessary, so i think my actual Psu would work.. but if someone still have any suggestion or comment would be appreciated, thanks ;)



#3 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: V'Ger 6.1.7601 x64
  • Phone: SQNY D5503

Posted 29 June 2013 - 16:47

Yes, it's enough with a headroom. VX550W is a very capable unit, made before the wattage craze also infected Corsair. From what I gather, it does have one 6-pin *and* one 8-pin (doesn't it?) as required by any GTX 760. You should be good to go. (Y)



#4 OP ergit3000

ergit3000

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Monterrey, Mexico

Posted 29 June 2013 - 17:19

Yes, it's enough with a headroom. VX550W is a very capable unit, made before the wattage craze also infected Corsair. From what I gather, it does have one 6-pin *and* one 8-pin (doesn't it?) as required by any GTX 760. You should be good to go. (Y)

Thanks for the answer about my psu, now I have a doubt about going between the gtx 760 or for a couple more dollars for the Radeon 7950, I just want the best option for my budget :s ,any help here guys pls???



#5 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: V'Ger 6.1.7601 x64
  • Phone: SQNY D5503

Posted 29 June 2013 - 17:43

That's a tough one. 7950 (Boost) is a tad less efficient, but performance is toe-to-toe. It does give a bit more stuff for money - one extra gigabyte to store those Skyrim 4K mods, among other things? Yes, please. If you don't care for hi-res stuff, however, toss a dice.

 

Also, a correction: not all GTX 760 require second PEG to be 8-pin. Asus latest even does away with just single 8-pin, evidently having based it on 670 Mini.



#6 OP ergit3000

ergit3000

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Monterrey, Mexico

Posted 29 June 2013 - 19:40

That's a tough one. 7950 (Boost) is a tad less efficient, but performance is toe-to-toe. It does give a bit more stuff for money - one extra gigabyte to store those Skyrim 4K mods, among other things? Yes, please. If you don't care for hi-res stuff, however, toss a dice.

 

Also, a correction: not all GTX 760 require second PEG to be 8-pin. Asus latest even does away with just single 8-pin, evidently having based it on 670 Mini.

Excellent info, thank you very much! ;)