• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 beanboy89

beanboy89

Neowinian

• Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5

Posted 30 June 2013 - 22:56

I work at a big-box retailer, and we've recently cut the prices of an Acer S3 Ultrabook. We got a bunch of them for Black Friday this past year, and we've sold very little of them. They had been originally $628 and then cut to $395 a few months back, and have been cut again to $278. The laptop has a 1.6 GHz Core i3 (Sandy Bridge), 4 GB RAM (soldered to the motherboard, apparently), a 320 GB HDD, and a 13.3" 1366x768 LED screen, powered by Intel HD 3000 graphics. I also believe it has two USB 3.0 ports, and an HDMI output.

My current laptop is an old Dell from 2008. I used it all the time in school, but ever since I graduated, I rarely ever use my laptop; I really have no need for it, because I'm always in front my desktop, but it when I do use my laptop, it seems really sluggish compared to my desktop (specs for both are in my signature). Would a 1.6 GHz i3 Sandy Bridge be faster than a 2008-era 1.6 GHz Core 2 Duo just because it's a newer architecture? I'd assume the Intel HD 3000 graphics on the S3 is better at light gaming than the GMA 950 on my old laptop?

A few concerns that I have about the S3 are the fact that the RAM is soldered to the motherboard, so I'd be stuck with 4 GB, and that there's no ethernet port. How good are USB to ethernet dongles? As for what I'd be doing with the laptop, it's not anything too strenuous; probably some really light occasional gaming, web browsing, streaming video, maybe Photoshop, and running some virtual machines. For the times that I actually need to use a laptop, would it be worth dropping the $278 for this? Thanks.

#2 xendrome

xendrome

In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

• Tech Issues Solved: 14

Posted 30 June 2013 - 23:24