Jump to content



Photo

GPU Woes - GTX 660 not working


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 04 July 2013 - 19:45

My GTX 660 has stopped working. I turned on my PC, the fan was spinning hard and loud on my gpu but nothing happened. I heard the beep for Bios posting no error messages or anything. Waited..Nothing on my display. I tried a different PCI-E slot, nothing. Still the same, loud fan and no display. I plugged my old GTX 260 in and it works fine. I'm assuming the card is dead and I need to see if it's covered under warranty by EVGA?




#2 Neu B

Neu B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-April 11

Posted 04 July 2013 - 19:50

...and you tried all the display plugs on the card?



#3 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 04 July 2013 - 19:51

So it was the poor 660 all along, back from January, when you had troubles with it, then? Slowly going on the ledge until it finally made the jump.



#4 OP DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 04 July 2013 - 19:56

...and you tried all the display plugs on the card?

Yes.

 

So it was the poor 660 all along, back from January, when you had troubles with it, then? Slowly going on the ledge until it finally made the jump.

Haha yep. Well, my original one messed up due to a poor overclock in precision when running a stress test. I exchanged it for this one and now I'm having troubles with this one :(



#5 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 04 July 2013 - 20:27

Bad time for it, what with the 4.07 and weekend right after.

 

If fan(s) spin on 100% at any given time and shows nothing, it's dead, there's nothing more to check. Everything breaks, bad luck, at least EVGA should be fairly forthcoming, aren't they?

Don't think you should have tried OC-ing, though. Back there was a debate whether your Earthwatts 500W is enough for 660 (and I was raging and foaming about amps, like I often do, and burning one's house down with amps) - it is, but *there's no headroom for OC*. It might have impacted capabilities of your PSU and while old 260 lives on, it's also somwhat older tech, perhaps more tolerant to power impurities.



#6 OP DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 05 July 2013 - 06:33

Bad time for it, what with the 4.07 and weekend right after.

 

If fan(s) spin on 100% at any given time and shows nothing, it's dead, there's nothing more to check. Everything breaks, bad luck, at least EVGA should be fairly forthcoming, aren't they?

Don't think you should have tried OC-ing, though. Back there was a debate whether your Earthwatts 500W is enough for 660 (and I was raging and foaming about amps, like I often do, and burning one's house down with amps) - it is, but *there's no headroom for OC*. It might have impacted capabilities of your PSU and while old 260 lives on, it's also somwhat older tech, perhaps more tolerant to power impurities.

 

I ended up upgrading my entire system and getting a Corsair 750W PSU. GPU is working fine now. It may be on the edge of death though so I'll likely just order a 770 tomorrow or see if a local store has one in stock. Good memory by the way!



#7 OP DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 09 July 2013 - 22:47

So an update - Bought a second GTX 660 for SLi and I was impressed for the most part. I noticed microstuttering in Tomb Raider and barely got above 35 fps maxed at 2560x1440. Arkham City also had some weird lag/stuttering every 15 seconds or so. I've decided to return one GTX 660. I will be buying a Gigabyte GTX 770 in the next day or two. I hope my cpu wasn't a bottleneck and part of what was giving me lower fps. I really did enjoy the FPS boost in games like BF3, The Witcher 2, Metro 2033 but honestly, seeing as how the 770 will give me as good performance or better and won't cause me to block my PCI slot with a second card, I'm sure I will be happier. I just hope my 3570k isn't a bottleneck.



#8 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 11 July 2013 - 23:16

So an update - Bought a second GTX 660 for SLi and I was impressed for the most part. I noticed microstuttering in Tomb Raider and barely got above 35 fps maxed at 2560x1440. Arkham City also had some weird lag/stuttering every 15 seconds or so. I've decided to return one GTX 660. I will be buying a Gigabyte GTX 770 in the next day or two. I hope my cpu wasn't a bottleneck and part of what was giving me lower fps. I really did enjoy the FPS boost in games like BF3, The Witcher 2, Metro 2033 but honestly, seeing as how the 770 will give me as good performance or better and won't cause me to block my PCI slot with a second card, I'm sure I will be happier. I just hope my 3570k isn't a bottleneck.

 

Weird; speaking of GTX 660s, I got to experience one in a *stock* Haswell i7 rig at MicroCenter.  This was NOT one of those outrageous SLI+overclocked beasts - bone-stock, cooling, 8 GB of RAM, and stock, stock, stock clocking (and a single GTX 660). Crysis 3 was set to Very High + High + 4x MSAA (1920x1080).  Ran smooth as glass.  Same driver I have (320.49).  I'll be throwing the driver set (and my refurb GTX 550 Ti) at Crysis 2 later tonight.