Jump to content



Photo

Dell u2412m displayport help

displayport hdmi win7

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Distant

Distant

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 10

Posted 05 July 2013 - 12:12

Hey, 

 

I have an Asus G53-JW which has an HDMI and VGA output. 

My Dell u2412m has displayport. I purchased an HDMI to DP adapter but the Dell isn't picking up a signal. I tried changing gfx output options but that didn't work.

I was doing some reading on Tom's Hardware and I got the impression you can't do HDMI -> DP? 

 

So the setup now is HDMI -> DVI via adapter. It works fine but it's putting a lot of pressure on my HDMI port on the laptop. DP is a bit lighter, would make me feel better.

Anyone have any suggestions?




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 July 2013 - 13:09

What do you mean by "putting a lot of pressure on my HDMI"? AFAIK, they both use the same power.

 

Are you using onboard graphics? What adapter did you use?



#3 jasondefaoite

jasondefaoite

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02
  • Location: Ireland - Singapore

Posted 05 July 2013 - 13:13

Mindovermaster ... it's the weight/bulk of the DVI cable plugged into the HDMI port via adapter. A DP cable, as it's lighter, would put less stress on the connector.



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 July 2013 - 13:20

Then tape the thing to the case, it won't harm your computer.



#5 OP Distant

Distant

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 10

Posted 05 July 2013 - 13:39

Not sure how I'd do that:
jTXToLq.jpg



#6 Skids1

Skids1

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 22-July 04
  • Location: Iowa
  • OS: Windows
  • Phone: Android

Posted 05 July 2013 - 14:04

As long as that is a full DP Port you are using, try something like this:

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

 

If it is a mini DP port try this:

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2



#7 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 July 2013 - 14:06

As skids said, get the cord type, not the little hard adapters.



#8 bluboy

bluboy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 05 July 2013 - 14:13

Or just get a little DP extension cable



#9 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 05 July 2013 - 16:25

Or just get a little DP extension cable

This is probably your best bet, as then you can rest the end on your desk and it won't put as much pressure on your socket. You shouldn't be using your laptop as pictured as that is very damaging.



#10 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 05 July 2013 - 17:49

This is probably your best bet, as then you can rest the end on your desk and it won't put as much pressure on your socket. You shouldn't be using your laptop as pictured as that is very damaging.

This, or just move the laptop so most the cord rests on the desk rather than hanging from the HDMI plug and bending it causing intolerable pain and suffering to its tender and fragile circuits.



#11 OP Distant

Distant

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 10

Posted 05 July 2013 - 18:49

Kind of challenging, I have the u2412m to the left of the laptop. No space. I'll figure something out. 



#12 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Novorossiya
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 07 July 2013 - 07:37

Try disabling DisplayPort 1.2 option in monitor's menu if it's there.



#13 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 07 July 2013 - 08:16

I use an HDMI to DVI cable for this, exactly the same monitor even. Should help quite a bit and they're easy to find on eBay.

uH7391cl.jpg



#14 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 07 July 2013 - 10:09

I use an HDMI to DVI cable for this, exactly the same monitor even. Should help quite a bit and they're easy to find on eBay.

uH7391cl.jpg

 

This! Just looking at the picture of your laptop makes me want to cry  :cry:



#15 OP Distant

Distant

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 10

Posted 07 July 2013 - 15:53

Ordered, should be in next week. 

 

I've had this setup for about a year now. Hopefully this laptop doesn't decide to blow up!  :pinch:





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!