Jump to content



Photo

Ads/Script redirecting to Virus site?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#16 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 14 July 2013 - 08:03

I removed the top ad from main and forums until this gets sorted, no answer from my ad provider yet.




#17 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 14 July 2013 - 08:12

Also added that domain (which is always the same so far) to the ban filter.



#18 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 14 July 2013 - 13:37

This popped up for me now.  



#19 Leopard Seal

Leopard Seal

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 12

Posted 14 July 2013 - 23:50

It's back. Just had it pop up again on my desktop machine.



#20 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 15 July 2013 - 15:41

myftp.biz has been blocked here and at two ad providers that could possibly host such an ad, but it's confusing because we don't even allow popups; the only way we can truly get to the bottom of this is if I know exactly what ads are loaded on the page when the thing pops up.



#21 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 15 July 2013 - 15:50

Also save the page where you see it so I can also check sigs for anything dodgy.



#22 OP Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 15 July 2013 - 15:53

People keep saying pop-ups but it's not, its a whole site redirect and you end up at a white page showing just my capture in the middle of the page.



#23 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 15 July 2013 - 16:07

Hmm maybe disable "Allow sites to redirect you from the page" pretty sure Chrome won't redirect me off Neowin to some other domain just like that!?



#24 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 15 July 2013 - 16:11

I added gooleadsense.com to the Firefox list of sites to block.

 

I still have not seen any bad ads/redirects.

 

Must only be for Chrome users.,



#25 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 July 2013 - 16:27

2nd time this has happened to me now. I use inprivate mode at work so i'm not logged in but i'm on the neowin main page then start getting redirected to other site to land at:

 

attachicon.gifFake Virus.png

 

WARNING: Don't be a smarty and go to site below: :punch:

http://usdppvs.myftp.biz/index.php?....................... etc

 

I don't know if it's the same site as last time but it was the same fake Security Essentials thing.

 

It's only happened when not logged in so i'm guessing guests haven't been able to report it.

 

WOW, if MSE detects it just imagine how bad it really is....

 

Also Sandboxie FTW!

 

A good time to remind anyone who is reading this to keep their 3rd party applications and operating system up to date. It's more than likely what ever site it's redirecting to probably has an exploit kit.



#26 SecretAgentMan

SecretAgentMan

    Super Genius

  • Joined: 09-January 03

Posted 16 July 2013 - 09:56

I was redirected to a page just now (4:50 AM CST) so there are still problems. 

 

"trapes.<< malware >>"

 

Deleted the link.



#27 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 16 July 2013 - 10:13

I blocked that domain here on Neowin, and have also reported it.



#28 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 16 July 2013 - 18:11

Must only be for Chrome users.,

I've gotten it with IE9. I never can get any reliable info (page source, etc) because it does the whole page redirect.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!