Jump to content



Photo

Fake Microsoft Security Essentials popup on Neowin


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 31,149 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 13 July 2013 - 08:02

Please see here for examples: http://www.neowin.ne...-to-virus-site/

 

We have reported this to our advertiser, and hope it is taken care of quickly. It sucks that this rogue advertiser somehow got through.

 

In the meantime, if you see it, please close it and do not allow it to "clean your computer".

 

Thanks.




#2 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,497 posts
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 July 2013 - 08:33

May I suggest this should be on the front page until it's fixed?

 

I don't think it reflects badly on the site unless you fail to deal with it >.<



#3 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • 8,225 posts
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 13 July 2013 - 09:35

May I suggest this should be on the front page until it's fixed?

 

I don't think it reflects badly on the site unless you fail to deal with it >.<

Whoa!!

 

Couldn't agree more!!



#4 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,497 posts
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 July 2013 - 09:59

Outstanding.



#5 Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 13 July 2013 - 19:41

What's the actual issue here?  I clicked on that link and paid $1,000 to get those viruses removed.  My PC is probably cleaner than yours now!



#6 heatlesssun

heatlesssun

    Neowinian

  • 288 posts
  • Joined: 31-May 12

Posted 13 July 2013 - 19:51

Thanks for taking care of this. I came across this the other day, just closed it out and didn't think much of it at the time.



#7 SecretAgentMan

SecretAgentMan

    Super Genius

  • 496 posts
  • Joined: 09-January 03

Posted 13 July 2013 - 22:42

Still happening as of 5:40 CST.



#8 Leopard Seal

Leopard Seal

    Neowinian

  • 107 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 12

Posted 13 July 2013 - 22:52

Still happening as of 5:40 CST.

Yep, just happened to me 3:40 pm PST. Fortunately I'm browsing on my Surface RT :)



#9 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,999 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 13 July 2013 - 23:35

Honestly, if you know you have rogue ads that can infect visitors computers through you ad system, you should probably disable the whole ad system until the ad provider has solved the issue. Instead of posting a random post on a thread on the forum that you shouldn't click the link if it comes up for you... it's about professionalism and respect for your "clients"



#10 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • 10,104 posts
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 13 July 2013 - 23:41

This is more worrisome to me than the NSA or DRM.



#11 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • 12,797 posts
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 July 2013 - 23:46

This is one of the ads in question:

 

ysAWCTY.png

 

When trying to log-in it threw up a red flag on Eset and gave me this URL as the malicious culprit...

http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/aclk?sa=L&ai=CYSXzgeXhUZHRKsuqqAGixYDYDLnzkrYD4ZaLkWjAjbcBEAEg5c_rFlDn86ORBGDJ1tCI-KOcFaABn6SP2QPIAQLgAgCoAwGqBLEBT9DqMgO7sxui4ZO7ocdV-2SpLOdWAxPVmdYPFRoq6TB2XceFkWUh5g1Oy5pRc1dBK0M0GVm7jeUvL2cj16SrXRCY6XpHdnaNc3_jA4bmHBFD8Y_Tw07A8KJjjzBzfCWeMOdkYUF4gcPSO_2b-xNq23I6MveeUaPh1L1Mec5ihxd-oxMl_2r_vk0Z0r_I1j5OahrL3zZh_GsYZ8_PrHxUT5cupkL2gnX110ZM8q--h-Uv4AQBiAYBoAYCgAfJ2_Am&num=1&cid=5Gi4zmqLoGHO3zrT4wMLzRS0&sig=AOD64_2nnSrMi83okzb_JkaXsImEnjIo8w&client=ca-pub-9914992914910847&adurl=http://www.newzipopenerfun.com/gb/sabl/?adnm=27874615985&i=s&grid=Black&lg=EN&cc=US&clg=en&c=1&d=0&cid=_585695321&kw=software&mt=&mn=www.neowin.net&ct=&nt=D&expr=&ap=none&dv=c&color=black&agid=_5831036468


#12 Head of Tech Geek and More

Head of Tech Geek and More

    Head Geek of Tech Geek and More

  • 448 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 08
  • Location: Fla
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 14 July 2013 - 00:28

That rogue ad isn't just here. I've come across this fake ad on a number of other sites that use AdChoices as their ad system



#13 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • 6,016 posts
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 14 July 2013 - 00:31

About time the groups responsible for producing advertising started to properly vet ads placed through their systems tbh. The sites that people get infected by often get blamed when it's someone else's fault.



#14 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • 5,316 posts
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 14 July 2013 - 01:31

What's the actual issue here?  I clicked on that link and paid $1,000 to get those viruses removed.  My PC is probably cleaner than yours now!

Are you on something to say that?



#15 fjh

fjh

    Neowinian

  • 6 posts
  • Joined: 02-January 04

Posted 14 July 2013 - 01:47

It is still on your website.  It popped up on me on 7/13/2013 at 6:47pm.