Jump to content



Photo

New HTPC/Server (Smallest Form Factor)

htpc server sff

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 SlvrYeti

SlvrYeti

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-July 13

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:14

Hello everyone at Neowin!

 

A very long time viewer and I have decided to join as I have a question and what to pick your brains (uuuummm Brains!).

 

Anywho, I have a HTPC at present but it's in a GD06 case with two 3.5" drives and a 2.5" drive. It's big, it's heavy and it moans a lot (now, now I don't mean my Mrs!) and I want to slim it down and get a new model.

 

I'm looking for something that can do the usual (1080p 3D MKV etc, etc with no stuttering) and also have room for a PCI-E WiFi card and at least 2 3.5" drives.

 

I've had a look around and I have seen the new Silverstone Milo 4 and I think it might just be the ticket but I'd like your view. Maybe you have a better idea? Maybe you have seen something better?

 

Thanks!




#2 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:19

If you have network storage you can go completely silent with an atom board and a small ssd

#3 OP SlvrYeti

SlvrYeti

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-July 13

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:31

If you have network storage you can go completely silent with an atom board and a small ssd

 

I live in an old house, the max WiFi speed I can get in the living room is ~ 30Mbit. I'd love to have a small XBMC client in the living room and a server wired to the router but I've been advised that is no where near acceptable for 3D MKV @ 1080p.


Edited by cooky560, 19 July 2013 - 14:13. Reason: removed offensive words


#4 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:40

Any chance you can get some cat6 in there ? You can usually rip out the coax and fit them both in.

#5 OP SlvrYeti

SlvrYeti

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-July 13

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:43

Any chance you can get some cat6 in there ? You can usually rip out the coax and fit them both in.

 

Rip out what coax? I've looked at it and inside wouldn't be possible and doing it along outside the house, again, I was advised against due to the conductivity of Ethernet.



#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:42

You can always get an ASUS Eee Box.

 

http://www.newegg.co...N=-1&isNodeId=1

 

There's a 32GB, 320GB, and 500GB version. And other quirks.



#7 OP SlvrYeti

SlvrYeti

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-July 13

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:49

You can always get an ASUS Eee Box.

 

http://www.newegg.co...N=-1&isNodeId=1

 

There's a 32GB, 320GB, and 500GB version. And other quirks.

 

Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm looking for something I can add 2 HDDs too for a lot of storage.



#8 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:51

Can always get external drives.



#9 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 21 July 2013 - 01:49

I went with a Synology NAS for storage and built with a mini atx Intel motherboard with an i3, SSD, and GTX640 video card. It is whisper quiet.