Jump to content



Photo

CODE RED! Kaspersky Small Office Security 2 is bombing bad!

kaspersky junk

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 22 July 2013 - 21:38

I believe there might be something wrong with the rundll32.exe file which is causing my anti-virus to bomb all over.  System has been up since December of last year and this week I've been getting these errors left and right.

 

Server 2012 Essentials, 4GB Ram, POS Dell.

Attached Images

  • holycrap.jpg
  • rundll32shot.jpg



#2 Ulpian

Ulpian

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-July 03
  • Location: Szczecin / Poland

Posted 22 July 2013 - 21:51

Same problem with Kasperky Virus Removal Tool...



#3 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 22 July 2013 - 21:51

there is nothing wrong with rundll32.exe. what rundll32 does is load up DLLs,because DLLs cant normaly start themselves like EXE files can. So RunDLL32 is trying to load a DLL called basegui.ppl, but its not finding this file. What that means is, is either this DLL module is deleted,moved, or needs to be registered again in the system. I would suggest you reinstall the Kaspersky software,or do an update and see if it solves the problem.



#4 OP Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 22 July 2013 - 21:54

there is nothing wrong with rundll32.exe. what rundll32 does is load up DLLs,because DLLs cant normaly start themselves like EXE files can. So RunDLL32 is trying to load a DLL called basegui.ppl, but its not finding this file. What that means is, is either this DLL module is deleted,moved, or needs to be registered again in the system. I would suggest you reinstall the Kaspersky software,or do an update and see if it solves the problem.

 

I ran the clean uninstall tool from Kaspersky and when I reinstalled... it got worse as you can see in the screenshot.  Can't update the database, active protection, nothing.  It's screwed hard.  I don't believe there is a virus on here.

 

The only reason I'm calling out the run32dll file is because the icon showing is the file unknown icon so it could possibly be corrupted?



#5 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 22 July 2013 - 22:04

check to see if the file basegui.ppl exists in the system32 directory

 

and try running this command as admin

 

regsvr32 basegui.ppl

 

tell me what that says



#6 OP Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 22 July 2013 - 22:07

1. Not showing in System32

 

2. RegSvr32: The module "basegui.ppl" failed to load

 

Oh dear...



#7 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 22 July 2013 - 22:22

uninstall then reinstall .NET framework and do you have any type of dvd software installed?



#8 OP Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 22 July 2013 - 22:26

uninstall then reinstall .NET framework and do you have any type of dvd software installed?

Yeah I'm reading the same tech support page.  No we dont have DVD software installed.  If this doesnt work I have norton on standby to do the job Kaspersky cant.

 

Uninstalled .Net now.



#9 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 22 July 2013 - 22:29

yeah just realized that page is talking about "procedure could not be found", not module. totally different thing I think. Im starting to think it may be malware,as the file is actually missing,and youre having difficulties reinstalling it. Yeah its a good idea to try Norton. Do a scan and see what happens.



#10 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 23 July 2013 - 14:00

Run malwarebytes / spybot / hitman scans and see if you have any malware on the system



#11 OP Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 23 July 2013 - 20:04

So I've put Norton on and the only thing it found was some tracing cookie.  I don't know what the hell is going on with Kaspersky



#12 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 23 July 2013 - 20:10

kaspersky self mutilating?



#13 OP Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 24 July 2013 - 16:01

kaspersky self mutilating?

Not sure, I'll try reinstalling it later.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!