Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#16 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • 3,758 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 25 July 2013 - 19:37

 

ummm. yes you can. a "panel" is NOT 60 hz. the software says its 60, and 60 is the "fastest" it can go. however, they can all operate at a slower REAL 24FPS. which is what most modern TV's do when you watch BluRays.

 

I don't know where this "they can all" thing came from. Very few LCD panels are multisync. They may say they are running at 24Hz on their display but they are still doing 3:2 pulldown if they are a 60Hz model.

 

LG used to have a 60Hz panel that also supported native 48Hz (thus 2:2 jitterless pulldown) but it was phased out once 120 Hz became standard.




#17 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 22,109 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 25 July 2013 - 19:44

Any decent mid range and up TV from at least Panasonic, Sony and Samsung supports native 24. 

 

120hz is hardly standard anyway, 200 is more standard. and most 200 panels are actually 100(but motion flow like filters make the image appear to be smoother than it is) just like most 400 panels are actually 200. But you have to read the actual specs not the logos they use to sell the TV's. 

 

I would rather watch the movie in native 24 instead of motion flowed 120, 200 or 400 anyway. talk about ruining the pictures. those "waves" or "force fields" you get around every moving object is just so horribly ugly and annoying. 



#18 Ebi

Ebi

    What The Deuce?!

  • 239 posts
  • Joined: 27-March 04
  • Location: Malta

Posted 25 July 2013 - 20:01

TCL TVs are just plain horrible, we have the normal 32 and 40'' versions here at work and to find a decent one is like a lottery, they are made from cheap plastic and you have to be careful cause the connections at the back have a tendency to come off, not to mention that the picture quality of tends to give you eye cancer.



#19 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • 3,758 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 25 July 2013 - 20:04

TCL TVs are just plain horrible, we have the normal 32 and 40'' versions here at work and to find a decent one is like a lottery

 

Which means, like a certain other HDTV brand known for cheap prices, they probably buy rejected panels from other manufacturers and use them in their sets, resulting in a crapshoot for picture quality.



#20 Ebi

Ebi

    What The Deuce?!

  • 239 posts
  • Joined: 27-March 04
  • Location: Malta

Posted 25 July 2013 - 20:06

Probably, at one point we had 4 of the 40" set up next to each other connected to a PS3 via an HDMI Splitter and the pic quality on the 4 tvs was different for all of them



#21 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • 12,796 posts
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 25 July 2013 - 20:57

what's the dpi on this thing?



#22 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 22,109 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 25 July 2013 - 21:04

what's the dpi on this thing?

 

calculate it. 50 inch, 4k res, you have all the info you need. 



#23 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • 7,838 posts
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 25 July 2013 - 21:07

Does anyone know whether it will accept a native 120Hz input or if just applies signal processing to a 60Hz input? I'm interested in getting a 4K display but I really don't want to be limited to a 60Hz refresh rate, as otherwise I might as well stick with my IPS display.

Does any "120hz" HDTV accept a 120hz input? I thought they were all 60hz.



#24 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 22,109 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 25 July 2013 - 21:11

Does any "120hz" HDTV accept a 120hz input? I thought they were all 60hz.

pretty much, at best. 



#25 Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,553 posts
  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 25 July 2013 - 21:28

wait 20 more months and they'll be saying the same thing again

I hope not, but at the pace that they are doing it doesn't look good. :no:



#26 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • 16,858 posts
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 26 July 2013 - 04:30

Does any "120hz" HDTV accept a 120hz input? I thought they were all 60hz.

There's a 4KTV that can do 120Hz @ 1080p but apparently not at native resolution, so I'm optimistic that it will happen as the technology develops.



#27 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,236 posts
  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 26 July 2013 - 13:46

Don't you need broadcasters to send their signal out in 4k in order to take advantage of the tech in it?  Otherwise isn't it just another hdtv?