Jump to content



Photo

Should I upgrade to Windows 8?


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#31 OP Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 25 July 2013 - 21:25

Did you grab the correct 32 or 64bit version for your system ;)

 

Do you really use the task manager that often that you would change OS over something there are a million utils out there to view/manage processes running on your system other than the built in one.

 

I use it now and then if something is hung up, etc..  But its a tool, I really could give 2 ****s how it looks ;)  Does it do what I need it to do is the only requirement that is important..  It shows me the processes and their pids and how much cpu they are using, etc..  There you go meets my needs ;)

Yes I did grab the 64bit version and while I don't say I use the task manager often enough that I would want to change its looks, running Win8 on a VM, it has many more tools and capabilities that make it far superior in situations I have been in before with Win7.

 

After installing Classic Shell on my VM, it's quite similar to 7, with the capabilities of the metroUI if I want to use it.

 

The main thing for me is I plan on reinstalling my system soon, that's a given, to me it's a factor of which one will serve me better in the long run, not whether or not the upgrade cost is worth it, or whether or not what I'm using now serves me fine. Yes Win7 is serving me fine....I have no complaints about Win7 (other than the dual monitor support), but I think with something like Classic Shell I can make Win8's interface serve me virtually the same, with some improvements here and there that will serve me better.

 

Any features/issues I should take a second look at pertaining to Win8 before making a final decision?




#32 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 26 July 2013 - 13:28

just wanted to add my 2 cents.

 

one thing I like about windows 8, it repair ability is way better then windows 7. 

dism when combined with sfc is far better at repairing its system files compared to windows 7.

 

I just wish they could port windows 8 dism ability to windows 7 



#33 johnporter29

johnporter29

    a = 1; b = 2; a + b = c

  • Joined: 20-November 04
  • Location: Rotherham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Moto G 4G

Posted 26 July 2013 - 13:44

+1 to Windows 8, if you don't get on with the Start Screen, install Classic Shell or Start8 and have best of both worlds - Windows 8 with the Start Menu. Or just wait for 8.1 to arrive. 



#34 OP Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 26 July 2013 - 13:46

Went ahead and jumped to Windows 8, installed classic shell, and enjoying the experience so far. As soon as I know I have the base software I would want on a clean install I'll make a disk image in case I want to reinstall later (And haven't changed hardware).



#35 startscreennope

startscreennope

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-June 13

Posted 28 July 2013 - 06:43

Even with classic shell it's more of a hassle getting control over UAC and stopping MS from constantly phoning home with "metrics".



#36 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:28

Just keep it on Windows 7 for now. :)

 

Edit : Never mind, saw you went with 8, sorry.


Edited by Raa, 28 July 2013 - 07:28.


#37 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:47

Is there medications for that ... ? :huh:

Yes, it's called OS X or Linux (whichever you prefer).



#38 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 July 2013 - 11:03

Even with classic shell it's more of a hassle getting control over UAC and stopping MS from constantly phoning home with "metrics".

 

Doesn't disabling smart screen and not signing in with a Microsoft account disable most of the phoning home?

 

Turning this off probably helps also:

 

nolocation.png