Jump to content



Photo

External Harddrive from Mac to Windows

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 brianicoleman

brianicoleman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-December 02
  • Location: usa

Posted 26 July 2013 - 02:39

I have an external hard drive that I had connected to my Mac computer.  I have mainly music and pictures on this drive.  I recently got rid of the Mac and wanted to access my fiels on my Windows 7 PC.  When I hook up the external drive to my PC, it recognizes the hard drive (USB mass storage device), but I cannot access it from My Computer.

 

I believe this is because the drive is not formatted for a DOS operating system, but is there a simple way around this?  I do not have access to a Mac computer anymore.

 

Thanks for the help



Best Answer +BudMan , 26 July 2013 - 20:45

Or just boot your fav linux live CD and you should be able to read and then copy over any files you need..  Then you can wipe the disk and put whatever filesystem you want to put on it.

Go to the full post



#2 shoddy

shoddy

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 23-July 13

Posted 26 July 2013 - 03:46

http://www.pcadvisor...ndows-for-free/



#3 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 July 2013 - 20:45   Best Answer

Or just boot your fav linux live CD and you should be able to read and then copy over any files you need..  Then you can wipe the disk and put whatever filesystem you want to put on it.



#4 OP brianicoleman

brianicoleman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-December 02
  • Location: usa

Posted 27 July 2013 - 15:47

Or just boot your fav linux live CD and you should be able to read and then copy over any files you need..  Then you can wipe the disk and put whatever filesystem you want to put on it.

Brilliant - this completely escaped my mind - Thanks Bud Man



#5 ShadowMajestic

ShadowMajestic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-April 10
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 27 July 2013 - 16:19

Brilliant - this completely escaped my mind - Thanks Bud Man

Should even be able to do it in a VM.



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 27 July 2013 - 18:25

^ yup what would work too.