Jump to content



Photo

Looking for free or cheap ansi to unicode text file converter

ansi unicode converter free

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LauRoman

LauRoman

    New Constantinopolis

  • Joined: 07-February 06
  • Location: Constanţa, CT, România
  • OS: Windows/Debian/Ubuntu/Android/Maemo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 / Nokia N900

Posted 26 July 2013 - 14:13

I'm looking for a batch file converter that would convert any file i choose from ansi to unicode. Sometimes the files are in the same folder and probably i could create a script to convert them if i tried hard enough, but most are not and a lot of them don't even have the same extension. I have found non-free options that range from 15$ 3 month license on one computer to a 350$ on two computers for lifetime with 50% discounts on upgrades which is such a scam.




#2 XerXis

XerXis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 26 July 2013 - 14:28

this one should do what you need for free. There is a professional version with more options, but I think for you the free version will be good enough.

 

http://www.rotatings...st-express.aspx



#3 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 July 2013 - 15:11

Can't you just do something as simple as this

 

cmd /u /c type ansifile.ext>unicodefile.ext

 

the /u does this

 

/U      Causes the output of internal commands to a pipe or file to be Unicode

 

It would be quite easy to batch such a command.



#4 XerXis

XerXis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 26 July 2013 - 15:24

Can't you just do something as simple as this

 

cmd /u /c type ansifile.ext>unicodefile.ext

 

the /u does this

 

/U      Causes the output of internal commands to a pipe or file to be Unicode

 

It would be quite easy to batch such a command.

Having a BOM could cause troubles though



#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 July 2013 - 15:37

who said it would use a BOM?  I just did a quick test and opened with notepad++ since I know that shows if BOM or not, and can let you save with or without, etc.

 

testwobom.png

 

So from my quick test does not look like it adds BOM