Jump to content



Photo

Choppy Streaming Video

video streaming

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 July 2013 - 02:27

Ok, been having this problem with one of my systems.  Have not been able to figure it out.

 

I have 2 laptops that I have been testing with Chromecast and XBOX Media Center.  I get choppy video or really slow load times.

 

First laptop...

 

Dell M1330.  Old system.  No problems.  Chromecast streams great an XBOX connects no issues.

 

Samsung Series 7 Laptop

This is the one I am having problems with. 

 

XBOX with either not connect, or the connection is choppy/inconsistent.  Sometimes I will hear sound and no video as well.  Or the video lags a little and is choppy.  Same goes for Chromecast.  I updated video drives, network drives, and tried a couple different APs.  Nothing has resolved this issue.

 

Samsung is running an Intel Centrino 6235 Advanced wireless, Onboard Intel 4000 graphics as well as a 630m Nvidia dedicated card.  The M1330 Dell is running an older dedicated Nvidia dedicated graphics.  I am getting slower connections on the Dell since it is only a 54mbs wireless card while I am getting 72-144 on the Samsung.  Both systems are running Windows 7 cept the Dell is 32bit.

 

It is important to note that that the XBOX Media center connection fails a lot with the Samsung and at times, wont connect at all.  Related to that, when I was setting up Chromecast, the Samsung saw Chromecast device but was unable to continue accessing the system to connect to my AP. The wireless kept on connecting/disconnecting from Chromecast. I had to use the Dell to setup Chromecast to my AP and at that point, I had no issues access Chromecast on my Samsung.

 

So I believe it has something to do with the Samsung laptop.  I have not reinstalled everything as I do not have the time and wanted to see if anyone had any other suggestions.  Any help is appreciated.

 

Thanks




#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 27 July 2013 - 02:38

I used to get that with my ps3

you might need to rebuild your media center cache

close wmp then go to

 

start>username>app data>local>microsoft>media player note this is hidden so you'll have to 'show hidden files' to view it

note, you will need to kill the wmpnetwk.exe from task manager in order to delete this hidden folder,

then go to your network and sharing center, change advanced settings, turn on media streaming if off

then open wmp, after about 30 secs, close it, wait about 30 secs again, reopen, then wait for the cache to be rebuilt

 

 

(I got so fed up of doing this, I bought a desktop hard drive 320gb a hard drive caddy and power pack, and just copy my media onto that hard drive then watch via usb)



#3 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 July 2013 - 02:41

I used to get that with my ps3

you might need to rebuild your media center cache

close wmp then go to

 

start>username>app data>local>microsoft>media player note this is hidden so you'll have to 'show hidden files' to view it

note, you will need to kill the wmpnetwk.exe from task manager in order to delete this hidden folder,

then go to your network and sharing center, change advanced settings, turn on media streaming if off

then open wmp, after about 30 secs, close it, wait about 30 secs again, reopen, then wait for the cache to be rebuilt

 

 

(I got so fed up of doing this, I bought a desktop hard drive 320gb a hard drive caddy and power pack, and just copy my media onto that hard drive then watch via usb)

 

So the media center cache messed with your PS3?  I am having the same issues with Chromecast.  I wouldnt think Chromecase and the PS3 would use the Media Center cache.



#4 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 27 July 2013 - 02:52

I used ps3 media server and then tried tversity, and the stock server built into 7 ultimate, same results, which is why I gave up and rigged a hard drive

(had to buy one with it's own power source as the usb drives would malfunction after a while on my ps3s)



#5 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 July 2013 - 03:06

I used ps3 media server and then tried tversity, and the stock server built into 7 ultimate, same results, which is why I gave up and rigged a hard drive

(had to buy one with it's own power source as the usb drives would malfunction after a while on my ps3s)

 

I just tested Chromecast with Netflix.  No issues.  The choppy video I was trying earlier was playing a video inside Chrome.  So maybe it is because different file formats are not supported yet via Chromecast but probably a feature that is coming.  Still doesnt explain why streaming an MP4 via chrome works fine on an older laptop.  Removed the Media Center cache....will hopefully get around to testing that this weekend.

 

Thanks for the advice.



#6 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 27 July 2013 - 03:35

That's all I had on the subject dude, :(

I have literally trawled my way through dozens, if not more pages though the internet hoping for fix for the media server issue

I know your issue is more centered around Chrome, and I have no experience using it or chromecast for that matter, so I spologise for that

but I had learned to do what I suggested the hard way, so if it helps at all, :) great :)



#7 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 July 2013 - 04:07

That's all I had on the subject dude, :(

I have literally trawled my way through dozens, if not more pages though the internet hoping for fix for the media server issue

I know your issue is more centered around Chrome, and I have no experience using it or chromecast for that matter, so I spologise for that

but I had learned to do what I suggested the hard way, so if it helps at all, :) great :)

 

No worries dude.  I thought of different options by your suggestions and as it stands, I am trying to do things on a new product that just cannot happen yet.  So time and patience will make things right. 

 

Thanks again