Jump to content



Photo

Another Debian question. Xarchiver/squeeze


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 30 July 2013 - 11:05

What could be the issue with NOT being able to extract a file on this machine but when I copy that file onto a usb drive and try it on another Debian setup, it works perfectly?

 

As far as I know, I have both machines in question setup EXACTLY the same. Both are brand new installs of the latest Debian Wheezy.

 

Thank you




#2 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 30 July 2013 - 11:49

what compression is it? zip/tar/rar etc



#3 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 30 July 2013 - 12:54

What are you using to extract it?



#4 OP cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 30 July 2013 - 16:11

The particular file was a rar and I used both xarchiver and squeeze.

 

I've removed and reinstalled xarchiver twice also. That's my preferred program.



#5 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 30 July 2013 - 16:24

I have not used xarchiver before, but most graphical archive/unarchive programs in Linux use the respective command line tools for each archive type to perform the compression or extraction. In Debian Wheezy xarchiver merely suggests the rar package because xarchiver is in main but rar is in non-free. Therefore you probably do not have the unrar package installed on the machine that fails to open the archive. Other graphical archive programs should exhibit similar behavior to xarchiver because they all rely on the proprietary rar software to extract that archive type.

$ aptitude show xarchiver 
Package: xarchiver                       
State: not installed
Version: 1:0.5.2+20090319+dfsg-4.1
Priority: optional
Section: x11
Maintainer: Christian Hübschi <huebschi.christian@gmail.com>
Architecture: amd64
Uncompressed Size: 1,523 k
Depends: libatk1.0-0 (>= 1.12.4), libc6 (>= 2.3), libcairo2 (>= 1.2.4), libfontconfig1 (>= 2.9.0), libfreetype6 (>= 2.2.1), libgdk-pixbuf2.0-0 (>= 2.22.0), libglib2.0-0 (>=
         2.14.0), libgtk2.0-0 (>= 2.10.0), libpango1.0-0 (>= 1.14.0)
Recommends: xdg-utils, arj, bzip2, rpm, p7zip-full, unzip, zip
Suggests: lha, rar
Description: GTK+ frontend for most used compression formats
 Xarchiver is a Desktop Environment independent GTK+ 2 frontend for manipulating 7z, arj, bzip2, gzip, rar, tar, zip, and RPM files. It allows you to create archives and add,
 extract, and delete files from them. Password protected archives in the arj, 7z, rar, and zip formats are supported.
Homepage: http://xarchiver.sourceforge.net/

You should either install rar and unrar or install xarchiver with all suggested packages. Running both of the commands below would not hurt, but you only need one or the other (as long as xarchiver is already installed, otherwise you need the second).

$ sudo apt-get install rar unrar

$ sudo apt-get install --install-suggests xarchiver


#6 OP cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 02 August 2013 - 01:59

Thanks xorangekiller.

 

Haven't forgotten about this but haven't had time to work on that computer in a couple days.

 

Sure seems odd that I got xarchiver/squeeze to both work on 3 other computers without going through changes!!



#7 OP cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 05 August 2013 - 02:40

I reformatted this particular computer and installed Windows 7 for customer. Wheezy was just having to many simple issues on this system, that shouldn't have never been issues, compared to the other 4 I've recently setup.

 

Thanks for the help though. Learned something from this simple issue!!



#8 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 August 2013 - 03:15

Learned something from this simple issue!!

 

That its not as simple as you thought? :laugh:





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!