Jump to content



Photo

Chrome Sync


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 03 August 2013 - 01:57

So chrome has the ability to sync with your account all data, apps, passwords, bookmarks etc.

 

I have it set to sync everything, yet every time I have installed Chrome on another computer, or a fresh install, the apps get messed up. There is always a bunch of apps that didn't install, and basically go missing.

 

Half the time if it wasn't one I used often, I might not even notice till down the road..

 

Am I the only one? What's going on?




#2 roguekiller23231

roguekiller23231

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-March 11

Posted 03 August 2013 - 02:00

i've got a load of apps installed and have had to re sync after a reinstall and use the same apps/bookmarks on another computer, never had anything missing.

 

it does take a while for chrome to completely download everything before it all shows up, but it's usually all there with a few extra's usually that i delete.



#3 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 03 August 2013 - 03:40

Are they actual apps or userscripts/userstyles? If they are actual apps then that is odd.



#4 revanmj

revanmj

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-August 06
  • Location: Poland
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus

Posted 04 August 2013 - 06:24

Generally, syncing for apps and extensions work only for those downloaded from Chrome Web Store. If you installed some manually, they won't sync.



#5 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 18 August 2013 - 16:00

I have userscripts, and they are backed up fine with Tampermonkey.

 

All are downloaded from Chrome Web Store, not sure where else you'd get them lol

 

Maybe I just don't wait long enough, but seems like some get lost. I might have to re-install soon, so we will see.

 

So I should be able to install, log into my account, and all things will be as they were? No extra steps needed?