Jump to content



Photo

Brief downtime 5 August: data drive installation

neowin

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,721 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 08 August 2013 - 13:46

TIL theres alreadey a sata 3  :laugh: but intel is most trusted  :huh:

http://www.webopedia...M/S/sata_3.html

also intel ssd aren't as trusted as you believe. the samsung 840 pros are the popular ones right now with the OCZ Vertex 4s right behind them




#17 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,504 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 08 August 2013 - 13:47

No, good servers use dedicated server hardware. Read and learn: http://en.wikipedia....ver_(computing)

 

At work I have the pleasure of maintaining a bunch of this kind of server: http://en.wikipedia..../Dell_PowerEdge



#18 shall_i_cut

shall_i_cut

    Touch me if you dare

  • 455 posts
  • Joined: 27-August 12
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 7, Android 4.2.1
  • Phone: O+ 8.91

Posted 08 August 2013 - 13:50

No, good servers use dedicated server hardware. Read and learn: http://en.wikipedia....ver_(computing)

 

At work I have the pleasure of maintaining a bunch of this kind of server: http://en.wikipedia..../Dell_PowerEdge

How hard is it to maintain a server? Is it similar to maintaining a home desktop?



#19 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,504 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 08 August 2013 - 13:52

How hard is it to maintain a server? Is it similar to maintaining a home desktop?

 

There are many more things to consider than with a home desktop. Uptime for once - users will react badly if you reboot a file server or mail server at the wrong time. 



#20 shall_i_cut

shall_i_cut

    Touch me if you dare

  • 455 posts
  • Joined: 27-August 12
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 7, Android 4.2.1
  • Phone: O+ 8.91

Posted 08 August 2013 - 13:55

There are many more things to consider than with a home desktop. Uptime for once - users will react badly if you reboot a file server or mail server at the wrong time. 

Is reboooting a server like rebooting a desktop?



#21 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,504 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 08 August 2013 - 14:01

Is reboooting a server like rebooting a desktop?

 

Reading up on the difference between desktop operating systems and server operating systems like Windows Server or Linux or commercial UNIX variants is left as an exercise to the reader.



#22 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,737 posts
  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 08 August 2013 - 15:22

Is reboooting a server like rebooting a desktop?

Probably better for another topic... but yes and no. Same procedure (Start > Reboot in Windows for example), but you have to provide a reason for the reboot, and physical servers can take 15-20 minutes to reboot because the BIOS has to check all of the hardware, then the RAID controller has to check all of the drives, then the server can boot the OS, which depending on the number of roles can take forever.



#23 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • 7,681 posts
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 08 August 2013 - 19:55

Probably better for another topic... but yes and no. Same procedure (Start > Reboot in Windows for example), but you have to provide a reason for the reboot, and physical servers can take 15-20 minutes to reboot because the BIOS has to check all of the hardware, then the RAID controller has to check all of the drives, then the server can boot the OS, which depending on the number of roles can take forever.


Takes less than 10 seconds for our new db server to reboot :)

#24 BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,704 posts
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 11 August 2013 - 00:26

Takes less than 10 seconds for our new db server to reboot :)

 

Holy hell... seriously?  That's really impressive.  (Y)



#25 Swiftie

Swiftie

    Neowinian

  • 852 posts
  • Joined: 13-March 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 11 August 2013 - 22:46

Takes less than 10 seconds for our new db server to reboot :)

 

 

Holy hell... seriously?  That's really impressive.  (Y)

 

 

 

Virtual?



#26 +SharpGreen

SharpGreen

    Now with built-in BS detector.

  • 2,376 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Ubuntu 14.04, 12.04 and Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus

Posted 11 August 2013 - 22:52

Um. Servers tend not to use desktop-class hardware. One would assume the drives installed in the Neowin servers are connected via SCSI and of server grade quality.

Or SAS instead of plain SCSI.



#27 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • 7,330 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 11 August 2013 - 22:59

Virtual?

 

 

Must be, or something, Cause standard SAS init of a RAID array and loading of the ROMs take 10 seconds to power up and sync the drives. At least on any new Dell/HP servers I have worked with



#28 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • 3,768 posts
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 11 August 2013 - 23:26

Virtual?

 

 

Must be, or something, Cause standard SAS init of a RAID array and loading of the ROMs take 10 seconds to power up and sync the drives. At least on any new Dell/HP servers I have worked with

 

Doesnt have to be. Our OLAP DB Server at work, with 2 Samsung 840 Pro's on a LSI Raid Card with RAID 1 takes 15 second to boot. Its running ubuntu server with mysql installed. 

Great server, love the SSDs.



#29 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,660 posts
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 11 August 2013 - 23:29

Is reboooting a server like rebooting a desktop?

Our servers at work take a bit to boot. We maintain IBM P series (running AIX) using SAN & SVC. It is way different than a normal desktop reboot/boot. It really is comparing apples to oranges.



#30 Mikee4fun

Mikee4fun

    Neowinian

  • 636 posts
  • Joined: 24-February 04
  • Location: SF Bay Area, California

Posted 11 August 2013 - 23:37

Using a SAN connected via iScsi with a fatty SAS array using Esxi, makes it FTW! With that setup you can reboot VM's in a snap.