Jump to content



Photo
android

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,130 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 07 August 2013 - 19:11

PSA: Android Device Manager now rolling out to a handset near you
 
untitled-1_620x340.png

That new Android Device Manager feature Google announced last week? It's live now, according to numerous tipsters (and several of our own Android-sporting editors). For the time being, the functionality seems to only be present on handsets, arriving via an over the air update. The new feature lets you ring your phone at maximum volume even when silenced, locate the device on a Google Map and wipe it clean, should the other two options not pan out.

 

Source: Engadget

Link: Android Device Manager

 

I tried it out just now. It located my phone fairly accurately.




#2 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,863 posts
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 07 August 2013 - 19:17

So only an OTA update?  Not an app install?



#3 OP +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,130 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 07 August 2013 - 19:21

Yes. Once you see this under Settings -> Security -> Device Administrators you have the ability to track down your phone:

 

xFwM5KA.jpg



#4 B0mberman

B0mberman

    Silence is the key to Wisdom

  • 5,154 posts
  • Joined: 25-June 07
  • Location: CPT
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy S2 CM

Posted 07 August 2013 - 20:25

nice!



#5 AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • 5,512 posts
  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 August 2013 - 20:41

Oh, would you look at that. Not only did I not notice that this was on my phone and working already, I didn't even notice the announcement about it. :laugh:

 

Works great though. Don't have to worry about remembering to install Lookout or anything like that now. It would be REALLY nice if they would let you remotely lock. I don't necessarily want to wipe my device all the time if I forget it. Sometimes I leave it somewhere safe that I just don't want people rummaging around on it.

 

Oddly enough on the ADM page it shows my One and says it registered August 3rd, 2013. My One X that's sitting in a drawer at home says activated April 6th though.  :huh:



#6 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,863 posts
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 07 August 2013 - 20:48

Nice, on my custom ROM as well.



#7 Toytown

Toytown

    Neowinian

  • 22 posts
  • Joined: 22-September 10

Posted 07 August 2013 - 20:52

Install on my Nexus 4, however whenever i goto the webpage i just get

"Google Apps Device Policy is only available for Google Apps Business and Education customers".

 

Thats pretty crappy and means it's useless if google hosts your domain name and you're not a business customer :(



#8 SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,393 posts
  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 07 August 2013 - 20:52

Not working on my CleanRom 4.1 HTC One.  Says unable to locate, ring doesn't do anything, and I have given access in device administrators too.    Funny thing is, when I hit "locate my device", i can see data activity on the phone, but it doesn't do anything.



#9 jren207

jren207

    Neowinian

  • 377 posts
  • Joined: 06-February 04
  • Location: Lincolnshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 07 August 2013 - 21:02

Works really well on my Galaxy Nexus with 4.3. Locates with nice accuracy, and the ring feature works well. Not going to try the wipe just yet, but maybe later on...



#10 AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • 5,512 posts
  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 August 2013 - 21:03

Not working on my CleanRom 4.1 HTC One.  Says unable to locate, ring doesn't do anything, and I have given access in device administrators too.    Funny thing is, when I hit "locate my device", i can see data activity on the phone, but it doesn't do anything.

Do you see Android Device Manager in the Google Settings app?



#11 panacea

panacea

    technical cannibal

  • 6,052 posts
  • Joined: 20-November 01
  • OS: win 8.1 | classic shell
  • Phone: htc one

Posted 07 August 2013 - 21:12

Excellent. No need to install other software to do it.     

 

However, I agree to "It would be REALLY nice if they would let you remotely lock"   



#12 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,505 posts
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 07 August 2013 - 21:30

Works fine on HTC One, Nexus 7 2012/2013 (all stock)



#13 +InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,579 posts
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & OSX 10.9
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus running CyanogenMod 11

Posted 07 August 2013 - 21:41

Works fine on my Galaxy Nexus running CyanogenMod 10.1, apparently the device was registered on 13 June 2013.

Strangely enough it states my Asus Transformer Prime was registered on the 25th March 2013 too.

#14 ichi

ichi

    Akihabara Style

  • 4,879 posts
  • Joined: 20-December 04

Posted 07 August 2013 - 22:38

Install on my Nexus 4, however whenever i goto the webpage i just get

"Google Apps Device Policy is only available for Google Apps Business and Education customers".

 

Thats pretty crappy and means it's useless if google hosts your domain name and you're not a business customer :(

 

Same here, but some users of Google Apps on the Google Products Forums are reporting that it suddently became available for them so I guess they are slowly rolling it out for all the free GApps accounts.

 

PS: actually it began working for me right now.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!