Jump to content



Photo

[UK] Are there any UK ISPs that don't throttle speeds?

uk isps throttle throttling

  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#46 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 09 August 2013 - 12:49

That seems to directly contradict their policy though.  Here's the relevant bit again as it was stripped out of your post:

 

 

Now I'm assuming that downloads refers to P2P downloads - maybe that's an incorrect assumption - but that's the way their throttling worked up until recently when they changed the wording of the policy.  For example, the old policy included an example where P2P traffic would be throttled but iPlayer would be unaffected.

 

As I said earlier, it's a real shame that they made their policy less clear :/

 

Anyway, in practice I find that this is less of an issue than it appears to be when you read the policy.

 

 

Downloads = downstream bandwidth. Uploads = upstream bandwidth. 




#47 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 09 August 2013 - 13:02

Also youtube streaming is a joke with VM

 

That's because they outsource a video caching service for youtube, and it's almost always got corrupt videos on there. Trying to save money by keeping the large majority of the internet bandwidth on their own network, and should in theory help speed things up no end too. Unfortunately, if the cache you're on is broken, it can take weeks before it's refreshed and VM support will keep you waiting with 'updates' on the issue via their forums until then, low and behold they announce it's fixed.

It's a stupid system, but one they need to do in order to keep the costs down... at least we've not go transparent cache forced on ALL webpages like we used to have... Although I do have a sneeking suspission they do still cache some pages from the same weird error message I get every now and then.

 

Either way, there are ways around the youtube problem but we shouldn't have to fix problems our ISP is causing.



#48 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 09 August 2013 - 13:02

Just spend literally a few pounds on a VPN and not worry?

 

If you're using torrents you should be already any way.



#49 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 09 August 2013 - 13:31

Just spend literally a few pounds on a VPN and not worry?

 

If you're using torrents you should be already any way.

Why?



#50 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 09 August 2013 - 13:40

Why?

Dodges the throttling issue and provides more anonymity.

 

Which reminds me...should really enable mine.



#51 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 09 August 2013 - 13:48

Another for Sky here. I have, on multiple occasions, downloaded about 1TB of data in a month and have NEVER been throttled, usenet and torrents continue downloading at full speeds.

 

Plus Sky's broadband infrastructure is great :) Get 11Mb on my line here where all other providers gave me 9Mb.

 

Fibre soon though :D



#52 Biohead

Biohead

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-November 05
  • Location: Heathrow, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 August 2013 - 18:05

Where I live (a HMO), the letting agent uses Utility Warehouse, which I believe uses TalkTalk as their provider, and they throttle heavily between 18:00 and 00:00.

 

Talktalk retail definitely don't throttle. I'm on Essentials with Fibre large and I'm currently getting 7MB/s on a torrent of a TV show. I noticed a massive difference when the throttling stopped around May this year.



#53 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 August 2013 - 20:16

I would be very tempted to switch to fibre if it was available around here, mainly for the much greater uploads speeds. Apparently sometime in summer 2014 it will be rolled out in my area.

 

In regards to YouTube apparently if you bock Virgin's YouTube cache then it works great, have a look at: How to fix youtube on Virginmedia by blocking cache proxy. Never really had any problems with YouTube, only the 1080p content is slow to at times sometimes.

 

 

Not with Virgin anymore.. Had Fibre at my old house with BT and Plusnet, both good. (80 down 20 up) perfect for me because I'm a web designer n work from home a lot, so uploading all the time.

 

Moved to new house, tried Virgin and couldn't do anything much online with how much they were throttling, but wouldn't let me cancel without paying rest of my contract off (I was only 20 days in), ended up mailing the ceo and he wiped by bill clear for me and cancelled, now I'm back with BT - ###### customer service setting it up but once it got going it's fine, full speed all the time (even though it's only 13mb down 1mb up...)

 

Summer 2014, something to look forward to at least.. For me it's not even in rollout plans, the annoying thing is, there's exchanges all around me at same distance with fibre enabled lol





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!