Jump to content



Photo
ps4 vita remote play

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 GotBored

GotBored

    Brain Trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-June 13
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 25 August 2013 - 04:47

Sony world wide studios president Shuhei Yoshida has revealed that the remote play function on the PS4 has zero lag and works really smoothly when streamed to the Vita.

He said that he played Assassin’s Creed 4 backstage and it was an identical experience on the PS4 and the Vita. He also revealed that developers have to concentrate on providing a proper control layout for the Vita because the system has less buttons, other than that “it simply works”.

 

ps-vita-remote-play-with-ps4.jpg

 

Source: http://www.gamechup....opment-yoshida/




#2 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 25 August 2013 - 06:14

Its a very interesting features.  I can see why some would want to use it.  Honestly, I have yet to need that type of function, but its pretty darn cool that it can work so seamlessly.

 

Seeing Nintendo pull that functionality off with the WiiU and MS with Smartglass has shown just how far the tech as come.



#3 Showan

Showan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-November 12
  • Location: Amurrika
  • OS: W7, W8
  • Phone: Lumia 521

Posted 26 August 2013 - 12:26

I have a few questions. I've tried to finds answers to no avail.

1. When streaming a PS4 at home, is that a direct connection between the PS4 and Vita? Or does it go out on the Web and come back in and connect?

2. What's the footprint on the PS4?.. I can see some with a hefty electric bill, from losing track of time. Especially those who plan to stream while not at home.


I would love to see a $500 PS4/Vita bundle ($549.99 tops).

#4 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 26 August 2013 - 18:11

1. When streaming a PS4 at home, is that a direct connection between the PS4 and Vita? Or does it go out on the Web and come back in and connect?

It has to be a local connection of some sorts for his (somewhat hilarious) claim of "zero lag".



#5 spacer

spacer

    I'm awesome

  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 26 August 2013 - 18:16

I'm interested in the feature, but Sony really needs to make the Vita more appealing price wise. Even with the price cut of the handheld, the memory is still ridiculously expensive. (even after the "significant" price cut) Ideally, I would prefer to see Sony release a new model of the Vita that was compatible with generic SD cards. But that will never happen.

 

It has to be a local connection of some sorts for his (somewhat hilarious) claim of "zero lag".

Why is it a hilarious claim?



#6 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 26 August 2013 - 18:19

I'm interested in the feature, but Sony really needs to make the Vita more appealing price wise. Even with the price cut of the handheld, the memory is still ridiculously expensive. (even after the "significant" price cut) Ideally, I would prefer to see Sony release a new model of the Vita that was compatible with generic SD cards. But that will never happen.

 

Why is it a hilarious claim?

There is no such thing as zero lag. I know what he means but still.



#7 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 26 August 2013 - 18:40

It has to be a local connection of some sorts for his (somewhat hilarious) claim of "zero lag".

 

 

pfft, the PS4 is so advanced they invented time machines to create zero lag, the information literally arrives at the vita before it's sent, causing zero lag.negating any possible lag caused by video compression, transfer and decompression. 

 

well that's what I figured was going on anyway ;p



#8 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 26 August 2013 - 18:55

Well if you look at how the WiiU tablet works, it requires a cable connection to work.  I think they may have mentioned wanting to do it wireless at some point.

 

So it will be very interesting to see how reliable a wirelsss connection can be at streaming live gameplay from the ps4 to the Vita.  I assume part of the reason why it could work well is that the ps4 handles all the compression and that the Vita is powerful enough to decompress the stream on the fly. 

 

Either way, I want to see how this works in the real world.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!