Jump to content



Photo

Unable to download any apps

android

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 25 August 2013 - 19:18

Currently I have around 150mbs free in my phones storage. Now when I attempt to download any app regardless of size play store downloads the app but it indicates that there is insufficient space. I also get a message from the gallery stating that there is not enough free space when I attempt to look at the pictures. I have to use android assistant to clear the cache in order to use the gallery.
I am running Android 4.1 on the Samsung Galaxy exhibit.


#2 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 25 August 2013 - 19:36

Currently I have around 150mbs free in my phones storage. Now when I attempt to download any app regardless of size play store downloads the app but it indicates that there is insufficient space. I also get a message from the gallery stating that there is not enough free space when I attempt to look at the pictures. I have to use android assistant to clear the cache in order to use the gallery.
I am running Android 4.1 on the Samsung Galaxy exhibit.

 

Does your phone have SD card slot? If so, you can get a 32 or 64gb card and make more room for the apps.

 

If you are not able to move the apps to SD, then you might want to consider to root your phone to enable more space with a mod if they have a mod available for your phone.



#3 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 25 August 2013 - 23:12

Did you have this problem before you tried to edit the OS to allow apps to move to the SD?

 

Your phone doesnt look to be very supported at all.  A search for SGH-T599n brings up little to nothing about the device.  I would factory reset the phone, get a different phone that is supported well by the community and sell the SGH-T599n.



#4 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 26 August 2013 - 11:18

Yes I had this issue prior to making any changes to the os.

#5 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 26 August 2013 - 11:40

I don't think that there is a way around this. I had the same problem on my S3, if my free space got to <150MB I would have a hard time trying to install even the smallest application.

I've got a 32GB SD card for my S4 now so I'm not sure if I would have the same issue, but it wouldn't surprise me.

#6 srbeen

srbeen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 26 August 2013 - 11:51

Above suggestions won't help, its a system problem and it needs to be fixed. I've had this android bug before.

 

The quick and dirty is to backup, format your phone (reset to factory settings), and restore.

The long is rooting it and clearing the cache and dalvik cache, then letting it re-index itself. I've found that sometimes its required to delete some problematic files in the /system directory. I found it hard to squash 100% this method, but your data stays in tact.

 

Fore more info I suggest visiting xda-developers forum for your model phone and reading up on how to properly get your 150 showing free actually available. There may be other guides for android 4.1 that isn't specific to your phone itself. Your device likely runs like crap at present compared to the first day it was powered up.



#7 Vester

Vester

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-March 12
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Kali Linux
  • Phone: I9000 Custom Rom 4.2.2

Posted 26 August 2013 - 11:55

Yeah Root your phone and install a custom ROM normally they have scripts like APP2SD or app2EXT and stuff. These allow you to move your apps to SD card even phones with very limited internal memory can install a huge number of apps doing this you are only limited by the SD card size / what the phone can support. 

 

Make sure you remove any old photos / videos also or at least move them to SD card. 

 

http://www.youtube.c...ube.tziFWbUsDJM



#8 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 26 August 2013 - 14:33

Yes I had this issue prior to making any changes to the os.


Try doing a factory rest or moving your pics/vids to the external storage to free up space locally. Since there is no root for your device, you really do not have many options here.

#9 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 August 2013 - 02:42

Try doing a factory rest or moving your pics/vids to the external storage to free up space locally. Since there is no root for your device, you really do not have many options here.

I uninstalled a few of the wifes games, and even with ~100MB being reported as free I am unable to download. Now when my wife tried to download a game, it worked, but when I attempted to download a ~500k file, it pops up saying insuficent space. I am going to hook it up to the laptop and reset the file code just to see if that makes any kind of difference. Also I verifed via file manager that the game was installed on the internal memory, not the SD card, in fact the only thing that I have on the SD are the camera pics and some of my mp3s, so I'm completely lost here!



#10 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 August 2013 - 02:44

I uninstalled a few of the wifes games, and even with ~100MB being reported as free I am unable to download. Now when my wife tried to download a game, it worked, but when I attempted to download a ~500k file, it pops up saying insuficent space. I am going to hook it up to the laptop and reset the file code just to see if that makes any kind of difference.

 

Good idea.  If your phone is screwed, you can always send it back to T-Mobile and they will ship you out a replacement.  I was with T-Mobile for 8yrs and always gave them the story of "my phone just keeps shutting off randomly" and they replaced my phone with little problems.  Even when it was rooted.  I dropped my phone once in water and it work for 6 months before the speaker died.  Got a replacement no cost.  Granted it was refurbished, but worked as new.



#11 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 August 2013 - 02:47

Does it appear that the phone is screwed up, or is this one of the 'features' in android? Something just does not seem right about this...



#12 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 August 2013 - 03:07

Does it appear that the phone is screwed up, or is this one of the 'features' in android? Something just does not seem right about this...

 

Well, if you had the problem before the edit you did in the other thread, I doubt that is the problem.  I would try a factory reset next.  Make sure you backup and files/pics first.  And then wipe all data and rest to factory defaults.



#13 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 August 2013 - 10:19

OK, so I reset the default file location to go back to the phone and now everything works!



#14 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 27 August 2013 - 12:02

OK, so I reset the default file location to go back to the phone and now everything works!

 

Good to hear.  Didnt think that was the problem since you stated you had the issue before you made that change.



#15 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 August 2013 - 13:30

Well I guess the issue before was really out of space. :)