Jump to content



Photo
windows 8.1

  • Please log in to reply
161 replies to this topic

#151 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 01 September 2013 - 13:26

I don't use the Windows Store.

 

Can I upgrade from 8 to 8.1 without any issues? (wiping data/programs etc.)




#152 furyshinobi

furyshinobi

    (☞ ՞ਊ ՞)☞

  • Joined: 11-June 06
  • Location: Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 & Mac OSX 10.7

Posted 01 September 2013 - 13:48

I don't use the Windows Store.

 

Can I upgrade from 8 to 8.1 without any issues? (wiping data/programs etc.)

 

Yes, no issues though if you already installed WMC in 8.0 then you have to do a clean install~ or reinstall 8.0 and all your apps and then upgrade to 8.1 no problems.



#153 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 01 September 2013 - 14:08

Yes, no issues though if you already installed WMC in 8.0 then you have to do a clean install~ or reinstall 8.0 and all your apps and then upgrade to 8.1 no problems.

Seems not :(

 

eb_win81cldntnstll.png



#154 ArtistX

ArtistX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-November 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64 Pro - Gentoo Linux/XFCE

Posted 01 September 2013 - 16:33

I had two issues with 8.1 - solved one of them, seems it doesn't like it if you ave the drive encrypted, and the Nvidia drivers only let me use one of my two monitors, used an image I had of Windows 8 and both monitors are back, wonder if i should chance using the WHQL drivers on Windows 8.1



#155 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 03 September 2013 - 16:02

only problem i have is it keeps saying this "You'll need to provide administrator permission to copy this folder" or move & delete

 

never had this on any other os

I noticed the same thing



#156 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 03 September 2013 - 16:11

sxs

 

edit: Here is the KB about the issue btw:

http://support.micro...b/2734782/en-us

 

If it fails there is an alternative solution in there via gpedit

Thanks I think I figure out why it not loading the sxs files when I was directing it from the cmd to my installation disk...I think I downloaded a bad copy of the leak, because it takes forever for dvd drive to just read the disk when I pop it in. I dont know how I got to install the first time but now  it's not working. I even tried to reboot my laptop to the media disk and it couldn't read it. Tried my original Win 8 disk and it read it fine. So I will try again when i download another copy of 8.1.



#157 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 03 September 2013 - 16:18

Nobody has let me know if my settings are correct from the pic I posted on my SecureBoot. Cus it still says that it's not configured correctly .



#158 MariosX

MariosX

    The man with no dreams

  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Dreamless Land
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 04 September 2013 - 00:41

Can someone share a valid key for Windows 8.1 activation? Thanks a lot



#159 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 04 September 2013 - 00:53

Activation or installation?  Either way I doubt anybody will post it for you here, but if you're asking for activation that means you don't have your own valid Win 8.x key and you're asking for piracy... :shifty:



#160 1WayJonny

1WayJonny

    General, I salute you!

  • Joined: 05-May 05
  • Location: Dirty Jerzey

Posted 04 September 2013 - 15:36

My retails keys work fine but I also have a MSDN Windows 8 VLK, this key refuses to activate.
 
Any ideas of how I can activate a MSDN VLK Windows 8 Key?
 
Thanks!


#161 mkr.dk

mkr.dk

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-October 12

Posted 10 September 2013 - 14:00

I thought it was possible to activate Windows 8.1 Enterprise with your existing Windows 8 VL MAK key, but the key doesn't work.



#162 amd_dude

amd_dude

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-October 05

Posted 25 September 2013 - 20:28

I thought it was possible to activate Windows 8.1 Enterprise with your existing Windows 8 VL MAK key, but the key doesn't work.

 

I've been unable to make this work either.  Played with ei.cfg, different isos, no change.  It looks like they might have killed that SKU.  Someone should call MS and ask.

 

I keep reading that they are re-issuing the MAK keys for 8.1 and that there will be no free upgrade.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!