Jump to content



Photo
windows 8.1

  • Please log in to reply
161 replies to this topic

#121 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: BB Z30 on 10.3.1

Posted 31 August 2013 - 14:31

I think it was at least 15mins




#122 x-byte

x-byte

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-April 02

Posted 31 August 2013 - 14:38

Any error messages?



#123 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: BB Z30 on 10.3.1

Posted 31 August 2013 - 15:58

No, that's the thing, nothing happened at all I think if I left it, it would still be going now. I'm going to try again right now, and let it run for 1/2 hour and see what happens



#124 BetaAddict

BetaAddict

    Uncomplicating the complicated

  • Joined: 31-August 09
  • Location: Chicago
  • OS: OSX Mavericks, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: MotoX, Nexus 7, Android 4.4

Posted 31 August 2013 - 16:02

Not sure if it is already answered, but FYI your existing W8.0 keys can be used for activation. Just install W8.1 without the key (i.e. don't enter the key during the install setup) and then activate manually after you get to the desktop.



#125 ybrett23

ybrett23

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Location: Derby, UK
  • OS: osx 10.10

Posted 31 August 2013 - 16:35

has anyone actually done a proper "upgrade" without loosing files.

on 8.1 pro

i never had the choice, 



#126 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: BB Z30 on 10.3.1

Posted 31 August 2013 - 16:51

2013-08-31_124042.png

 

 

 

 

after 40mins....so I don't know whats up really



#127 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: BB Z30 on 10.3.1

Posted 31 August 2013 - 16:58

When I updated from the last leak that I had installed, I didn't lose anything at all the only way I knew that 8.1 RTM was installed was by the watermark. Is that suppose to happen?



#128 Tews

Tews

    Professional Lurker

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-October 03
  • Location: Somewhere on a beach

Posted 31 August 2013 - 17:10

When you change your installation key to your retail key, the watermark is removed.



#129 x-byte

x-byte

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-April 02

Posted 31 August 2013 - 18:00

attachicon.gif2013-08-31_124042.png

 

 

 

 

after 40mins....so I don't know whats up really

Did you try to copy the source files to your HDD and run the command with those source files?



#130 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 31 August 2013 - 18:10

has anyone actually done a proper "upgrade" without loosing files.

on 8.1 pro

i never had the choice, 

 

 

You can't with the current ISO's

 

the ISO only allows install. if you add the ei.cfg that allows ugprades to the install. it will fail because it uses your existing windows key to verify the install. and as we all know, you need the leaked keys to install, so it will stop with an error that your key is invalid.

 

since I pretty much just reinstalled windows due to HDD changes, I'm waiting for a proper upgradeable install, as there's absolutely no reason for me to reinstall from scratch. and no I buy into the whole "you should always to a clean install" BS. never had an issue with it, not on an NT based windows OS anyway. 

 

Actually you could probably do an upgrade if you used the cmd command to change your windows key to the leaked one, then ran the upgrade, then changed your key again. 



#131 freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 31 August 2013 - 20:40

has anyone actually done a proper "upgrade" without loosing files.

on 8.1 pro

i never had the choice, 

Worked for me.. downloaded the iso and mount it. Open the setup and in replace for settings and apps was available for me



#132 Tews

Tews

    Professional Lurker

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-October 03
  • Location: Somewhere on a beach

Posted 31 August 2013 - 20:49

Worked for me.. downloaded the iso and mount it. Open the setup and in replace for settings and apps was available for me

 

Thats not an upgrade ... thats just keeping your metro apps, not your installed programs ... those have to be re-installed again  



#133 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 31 August 2013 - 20:52

As I stated before, worked fine for me also.on 3 separate systems

 

upgrade.jpg



#134 freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 31 August 2013 - 20:56

Thats not an upgrade ... thats just keeping your metro apps, not your installed programs ... those have to be re-installed again  

So you're calling me a liar? Oomgz Office 2013, imgburn, chrome magically installed on its own i guess...  Clearly you havent even installed 8.1 from the sounds of it. 



#135 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 31 August 2013 - 22:03

Yep, upgrading from 8.0 works just fine. That is, unless you installed Media Center, then it's a PITA...