Jump to content



Photo

How to make Windows 7 faster on a older PC


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#16 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 01 September 2013 - 04:14

just put this in your floppy drive

 

xxqtg981-img290x300-1328000847vjnrbk2364




#17 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:05

My 2 cents:

Priorities for no hassle, minimal support approach:

  • Lubuntu
  • Add RAM as much as you can,And in this case, u may use Xubuntu

You can use a live CD/Flash drive to test b4 decision

 

This is a minimal support scenario.We take it for patients with extreme fatal illness with no hope of recovery.

I think you want this approach.



#18 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:08

turn off the aero, that'll help

(run a windows basic theme)



#19 t3chmachine

t3chmachine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-April 13
  • Location: New Mexico
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:30

Uninstall windows search, gadgets, and get rid of media center if it came with it. That would help a little without doing some hardware upgrades. I do agree to get a decent gpu that will help on that low memory 512 MB



#20 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:33

Try to be realistic here. With that hardware, you are never going to have breathing room in Windows 7. You will barely be able to run it. If it were me, I would throw Arch Linux or Gentoo on there with a tiling window manager like awesome/dwm or at the most, Openbox. Then again, once you put a browser on there and open a few tabs, say goodbye to the remaining RAM. Turn it in to an encrypted standard definition (because of the HD size) porn server.



#21 seta-san

seta-san

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:35

no possible for nothing. you're just better off getting a new PC. your current one would run WinXP like crap let alone anything newer. Honestly you're specs looking good for 98/ME



#22 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:36

Uninstall windows search, gadgets, and get rid of media center if it came with it. That would help a little without doing some hardware upgrades. I do agree to get a decent gpu that will help on that low memory 512 MB

 

If none of those are being used then it won't help with speed at all.

 

Seriously, throw the computer away and get yourself the cheapest new computer you can get. Would probably be about 4-5 times more powerful then what you have at the moment. 

 

Worst case scenario spend the $20 to get 1GB of RAM and learn to live with it. :(



#23 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 01 September 2013 - 05:57

For what it would cost to upgrade, i'd just get a new pc or put on a very old lubuntu/xubuntu install as the requirements are light, but then you would have security to think about. You could run win98 on it.



#24 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 01 September 2013 - 06:10

just put this in your floppy drive

 

xxqtg981-img290x300-1328000847vjnrbk2364

Why would you still use that when nowadays you can just download more RAM from the internets?



#25 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 01 September 2013 - 06:15

Why would you still use that when nowadays you can just download more RAM from the internets?

 

but we're dealing with an antique here, it might not be able to support a connection fast enough to download that much RAM



#26 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:00

 

If it is DDR, yes, it is expensive, it is hard to get nowadays.

You're kidding right? I've got bags of it here and it's worth next to nothing.

 

 

 

As for the mobo only supporting 1GB max, well... i'd challenge that, some accept more than what's stated. Even 1GB would make it run better though. (Y)



#27 monkeylove

monkeylove

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-August 11

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:55

The various lightweight systems mentioned here were mentioned earlier:

 

http://www.makeuseof...-pc-lease-life/



#28 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:49

You're kidding right? I've got bags of it here and it's worth next to nothing.

 

 

 

As for the mobo only supporting 1GB max, well... i'd challenge that, some accept more than what's stated. Even 1GB would make it run better though. thumbs_up.gif

 

yea, old out of production RAM actually does cost an insane amount if you were to buy them. But if you already have it of course it's worth next to nothing to you. Maybe you can ship him some.



#29 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:57

1) Add more ram

2) Look on eBay for a Core 2 duo machine for cheap and add more ram to that 4GB and get an SSD.

3) Get an SSD

 

You'll be a lot faster



#30 OP max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:53

You could use a USB stick for ReadyBoost, but I doubt It'll make a noticeable difference.

 

 

That is a good free idea!