Jump to content



Photo

How to make Windows 7 faster on a older PC


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#31 OP max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:53

Oh to everyone this is not my main PC.




#32 Shiranui

Shiranui

    Iconoclast

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-December 03

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:57

All of these actions involve replacing hardware, which is going to cost some money.  Given the age of the system (2001-2002 vintage?) it may be better to simply save up for buying a new computer, though.


That's probably the best advice you are going to get.

#33 OP max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 01:00

You could use a USB stick for ReadyBoost, but I doubt It'll make a noticeable difference.

 

Wow it actually worked thanks! I see a huge speedup already. Never tried this before.



#34 OP max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 01:49

Well I just got Firefox 23.01 installed on it and actually not that bad in speed.

 

Of course blocking ads though to make it faster and nothing better than Ad Muncher works for that. Sorry Ad Block Plus uses to many resources for older PCs compared to Ad Muncher.



#35 Devmer11

Devmer11

    Microsoft Enthusiast

  • Joined: 31-May 12
  • Location: Conway AR
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 820 Cyan :D

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:11

your best bet look around on ebay and get a decent core 2 system with 2 gigs ram I run windows 8.1 flawlessly my system is a gateway GT5428 Core 2 upgrade



#36 OP max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:30

your best bet look around on ebay and get a decent core 2 system with 2 gigs ram I run windows 8.1 flawlessly my system is a gateway GT5428 Core 2 upgrade

 

Yes that is what my older main pc use to run on except 4 GB of ram.



#37 OP max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 12 September 2013 - 19:24

Sorry I decided to stick with this PC but run linux on it.

 

I am going to create a server from it.



#38 Jason Stillion

Jason Stillion

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 12
  • Location: United States

Posted 12 September 2013 - 19:37

Disable Data Execution Protection (DEP) - Required editing boot.ini file

http://www.zensoftwa...ticle10002.aspx

But you lose the protection this feature offers.

 

(Edit) Just saw recent post, not a bad alt either.



#39 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 12 September 2013 - 19:41

Didnt the P4's use RDRAM at that point?