Jump to content



Photo

RAM Vs. CPU

cpu gameing ram vs which will help more

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#16 UseLess

UseLess

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-July 04
  • Location: Australia, West Coast

Posted 01 September 2013 - 14:48

Guys, don't forget that because it's prebuilt it's probably going to have a PSU that is capable of only pushing out what it needs, not allowing room for much more such as a graphics card. So that'll probably need to be included in the budget.

 

That is a good point, and something we should consider. Even a pretty low-end PSU should be 350W+, enough to cover a lowish power CPU and a 7950...or could go a 7850 if you were particularly worried.

 

Granted the quality of the PSU might be a bit off...so it would be good to have a surge protected power board/switch.

 

edit: for PSU calcs I normally grab any online calculator and then add a bit extra "to be safe"




#17 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 01 September 2013 - 14:57

Go for a dedicated GPU, your processor is fine, as pointed out however, check that your PSU can handle the GPU.



#18 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:02

My ram is ddr3 can i use a gddr5 video card?



#19 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:05

Video RAM and system RAM are two different things. Yes, you can run with GDDR5.



#20 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:21

As everyone else has said, get a better graphics card. You got the list of best cards in their best respective price range here and how they compare to each other here. Make sure you have a free PCI-E slot and enough room the card, the required PCI-E connector(s), that PSU meets the power requirement and is a unit of a reputable brand. 



#21 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:53

Dedicated Graphics card unless you have  a weak psu. 8GB ram is plenty for games.



#22 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:32

So i have a pcie x16 and 2 pci x1



#23 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:33

how is 

GIGABYTE GV-N650OC-1GI GeForce GTX 650 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

#24 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 02 September 2013 - 01:52

That's a good video card, but it's hard to tell if that's the best choice for you without knowing what sort of games you play, at what resolution and how demanding you are on graphical settings. For 200$ you could get something a lot faster than that.



#25 max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 01:54

then then hes parents will have to shell out for a bit more for a psu!!!

 

How do you know he is a kid ?



#26 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 02 September 2013 - 08:39

How do you know he is a kid ?

 

I dont but he said hes allowed to spend $200 on his computer for xmas so i assume its a xmas present from his parents... call me sherlock holmes :p

 

That 650 wont be so good i think. Id get at least a 660 if your going the nvidia route but then again guess it depends on the PSU. Make sure it has the 6 pin pci-e connectors, the 660 only needs 1x 6 pin pci-e connector and recommended 450 watt psu



#27 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 13:13

okay so the games i play are bf3 and i plan to be playing bf4 and crisis too at 1920 x 1080 with max settings 



#28 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 13:15

okay i have a HP Pavilion p7-1233w....now you guys know everything so you can actually help me. :)



#29 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 02 September 2013 - 13:28

Umm, you'll need a new PSU. You can't run any gfx card with a 300W...



#30 Snake89

Snake89

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 04

Posted 02 September 2013 - 13:29

Right now since the A8-5500 is a socket FM2, i would upgrade that to a A10-6800k, and OC your ram. An maybe next year when you save up some cash then buy a new graphic card.