Jump to content



Photo

RAM Vs. CPU

cpu gameing ram vs which will help more

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#31 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 02 September 2013 - 15:44

When looking at graphics cards, generally look at the 2nd number in the model (nVidia), 1st is effectively the year of production and the 2nd is the actual model)

So for eg. a GTX 650 is not as good as a GTX 560

 

use something like http://www.anandtech.com/Bench/CPU/2 to compare the cards your looking at.

 

I wouldn't recommend the 650 you posted...even my (2 years older) 460 out-performs it.

 

If you are limited on budget an AMD card will be better value for money than nVidia, but can lack things like Physx (however BF(at least 3) doesn;t support Physx so check if the games you play support it...if not then go AMD for sure as your limited on budget.

 

Similar rules apply for AMD cards, 2nd and 3rd number are more important than 1st.




#32 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 17:01

So basically i am gathering that there is know way to get a videocard this uear and that i will need to spend my money on a new processor and ram?



#33 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 17:05

what is a psu....what is oc'ing ram,how do i do i do it....is that a10-6800k a processor, is it compatible...will this let me play video games without as much lag?



#34 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 02 September 2013 - 17:08

what is a psu....what is oc'ing ram,how do i do i do it....is that a10-6800k a processor, is it compatible...will this let me play video games without as much lag?

PSU = Power Supply Unit. The PSU in your PC might be too weak to power a dedicated graphics card, hence the suggestions of upgrading it.

 

I wouldn't worry about overclocking (OC'ing) your RAM or upgrading your processor yet. Both ought to be able to handle BF4. The graphics card is what makes the difference in your case.



#35 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 17:25

Okay is there any specific PSU that you recommend for a video card. Also why is it to weak to power a card....what is the unit that measure the power output...and how do i know what i need to power a video card?



#36 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 17:27

how is this RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-530SS 530W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Power Supply, New Version with Build-in LED Fan On/Off Switch



#37 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 02 September 2013 - 17:38

I looked at the spec page for your HP system, it says for PSU : 300W. Watts is what you are looking at.

 

Considering a gfx card, adding up your other pc items, it requires more power than 300W. Look at minimum requirement off the Nvidia site. For that 650:

 

Minimum System Power Requirement 400W

 

That Raidmax is not a reputable brand. get something from Corsair or Antec:

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371044

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817139005

 

Please use the edit button on the bottom right of your post. Do not double or triple post.



#38 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 03 September 2013 - 00:39

So then what Video card could i get witth those staying in 200$ if i get the CORSAIR GS700 700W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready

 

so basically i have about 100$

 

how about

 

 

ASUS GT640-1GD5-L GeForce GT 640 1GB 64-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card

#39 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:05

If you're going to purchase near the holidays, remember that prices gets much more volatile after Thanksgiving. Given that, there's little sense in spending over 100$ on a PSU (that is to say, retail prices), given that your system can only host limited upgrades. You're obviously not pulling more than 250 W in your current configuration with that bargain-basement OEM PSU. Throw in a current generation video card and you still won't top out over 500 W unless you're deliberately trying to fry your hardware.

#40 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:16

okay so the games i play are bf3 and i plan to be playing bf4 and crisis too at 1920 x 1080 with max settings 

 

Sorry but no 200 buck video card is going to do that, especially crysis. You'll probably be looking at mid ranging visuals at that price point, especially with those AMD APUs which are pretty weak in comparison to normal desktop CPUs



#41 OP MontyPython

MontyPython

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 13

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:38

okay so let's make it basic.... how can i improve my gameing performace, as far as fps....i have 200$....i have a HP Pavilion p7 1233w.....what should i buy :)



#42 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:46

I would get an entirely new system, because even that computer with a good graphic card, isn't gonna work well.



#43 bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 September 2013 - 02:25

I have an AMD APU System also, AMD A6-3620 Quad Core, with Radeon 6530D, when I need more performance later gonna use AMD Dual Graphics feature, and increase the performance  a bit

 

More info here

 

http://www.amd.com/u...graphics.aspx#3

 

Most likely will still need Power supply upgrade though

 

Then it combine power of the APU video chip and also Power of the Discrete card as well


Edited by bikeman25, 03 September 2013 - 02:25.




Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!