Jump to content



Photo

All Services are stopped. I can't do anything

please help

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 AOXOMOXOA

AOXOMOXOA

    Gratefully Deadicated

  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Seattle wa.

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:32

I need help bad, I have tried everything I know to do.

 

I have a computer here that wont do anything. It wont go online, I have tried different net cards. I put in a wireless card and it wont even bring up the network connector to attach to a wireless network. When I look at the services they are 95% stopped.

 

I removed the drive and scanned it in another computer but it doesn't find anything wrong.

 

System restore does not work. The firewall wall wont even allow me to start it.

I can still install drivers but that's about all i can do.

 

It was online but really not working right when the owner ran hitmanpro on my recommendation and then it wouldn't go online at all.

 

before this happened it was scanned with malewatebytes, AVG and spybot.

 

other than backing p the data and reloading windows 7 64 I don't know what to try next.

 

does anybody have any ideas?? Please.

 




#2 NinjaGinger

NinjaGinger

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-January 02

Posted 01 September 2013 - 19:36

uninstall the firewall. If all then is ok, you know it the firewall



#3 OP AOXOMOXOA

AOXOMOXOA

    Gratefully Deadicated

  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Seattle wa.

Posted 01 September 2013 - 20:00

 cant uninstall the firewall. I cant do anything to the firewall I just get an error message.

 

and how would uninstalling the windows 7 firewall, If that is even possible. Why would that restart all of the disabled services??



#4 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 01 September 2013 - 21:31

Format C: and start over, something is VERY wrong with your install



#5 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 01 September 2013 - 21:34

If you can not do the system restore, then it's time for you to format.. your configuration is screwed up. If you have a restore disc, then you will be able to restore back to where you got the PC on first day as long as your CD drive is accessible.



#6 exotoxic

exotoxic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 04
  • Location: England

Posted 01 September 2013 - 21:44

Sounds like its a rt7lite version, best idea is to reformat with an original windows 7.



#7 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 01 September 2013 - 21:54

Just go with a fresh install. It's so quick these days with Win7/8,

 

You'll spend much more time pulling your hair out with the current mess you are dealing with, it's just not worth it.



#8 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 01 September 2013 - 23:54

Fastest course of action is to reinstall. There is something hosing that install. It could be malware or rootkit. The only rootkit scanner that was ran was hitman. Try gmer or combofix. Could be a registry hosing you too. Never was a big fan of hitman.

Also a good place to start with troubleshooting is the eventviewer.

#9 JaredFrost

JaredFrost

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-May 04

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:05

Like others have said, the fastest course is a reinstall, but if you're doing this for fun, lets have fun.

 

Start with a new user profile, throw more rootkit scanners at it, the same people that make Malwarebytes also has a rootkit scanner that seems to work rather well

It's hidden in the beta section of the site.

 

Reset TCP/IP to try and fix the innernet thing (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357)

sfc /scannow never hurt, you know, other then those times it makes things worse.

 

Regardless though, when you do fix it, still reinstall, because you'll never know what else might be wrong.



#10 Ian William

Ian William

    Open until midnight or later . . . sometimes later.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-March 13
  • OS: Windows Vista

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:23

If you decide not to reinstall your operating system, perhaps you should run TDSSKiller, an anti-rootkit utility devloped by Kaspersky.



#11 Head of Tech Geek and More

Head of Tech Geek and More

    Head Geek of Tech Geek and More

  • Joined: 30-October 08
  • Location: Fla
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:27

Try Windows Repair (All in one) from Tweaking.com  http://www.tweaking....all_in_one.html

 

I've been able to use it to repair issues like the one you are describing many times...

 

Message me if you have any questions on using it, but its really simple, so I don't think you should have many issues running it.



#12 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:55

I usually am one of the last to ever recommend a fresh install, but your stuff sounds WAY to messed up to ever just fix correctly.

 

Not much of any other choice. :(



#13 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 02 September 2013 - 00:58

It looks like your computer...

 

*puts sunglasses on*

 

is out of service!



#14 ilovetonetwork

ilovetonetwork

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-August 13

Posted 02 September 2013 - 07:26

I agree, its not worth the trouble. Format and reinstall Windows.



#15 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 02 September 2013 - 07:32

I share the sentiment with most users here, your best an least troublesome option would be a reformat, and reinstall,