Jump to content



Photo

Is It Possible To Build Your Own Windows 8.1 Pro+WMC ISO?

win8

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 02 September 2013 - 03:24

Now that windows 8.1 has leaked, many people who had installed win8+WMC wanted to install win8.1 Pro+WMC, and have it activated. There are numerous posts on the web telling people how to do it, but it is clumsy and sometimes fail.

 

Actually you can build your own win8.1Pro+WMC installation ISO, using DISM in build 9600, but I guess the procedure might be considered warez in Neowin, so I better not elaborate, instead show some screen-shots: yes, it can be done. :)

 

screen1515.jpg

 

screen1516.jpg

 

When the ISO is done, it is specific to your WMC key, and you can use it to install or re-install, notice that Net.3.5 was also added to install.wim :

 

screen1517.jpg

 

The WMC key is bundled to the machine it was first installed and activated, so, if win8.1Pro+WMC is installed on the same machine on-line, it will activate by itself, otherwise you will need to find out the possibilities of activating it if installed on another machine(like in my case, installed on VM).

 

 




#2 wrack

wrack

    Wireless Robotic Android Calibrated for Killing

  • Joined: 09-December 06
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 02 September 2013 - 03:40

Where and how do you get the "Internal" name and source path for the features?



#3 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 02 September 2013 - 06:03

Where and how do you get the "Internal" name and source path for the features?

You mean .Net 3.5?

 

http://msdn.microsof...y/hh506443.aspx

 

Actually, if you make everything from your legit win8, win8.1, legit key, then it's not warez, that's why MS has DISM for people to work on, and the commands to apply.... but I'd rather be on the safe side and avoid the ban-hammer. :)



#4 littlecx

littlecx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 06

Posted 02 September 2013 - 06:13

havent installed win8.1 yet. how to use 9600 dism in 9200?



#5 wrack

wrack

    Wireless Robotic Android Calibrated for Killing

  • Joined: 09-December 06
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 02 September 2013 - 06:38

You mean .Net 3.5?

 

http://msdn.microsof...y/hh506443.aspx

 

Actually, if you make everything from your legit win8, win8.1, legit key, then it's not warez, that's why MS has DISM for people to work on, and the commands to apply.... but I'd rather be on the safe side and avoid the ban-hammer. :)

Thanks. I do have 3 legitimate copies of Windows 8 so I might try this.

 

What I was wondering after seeing the command

DISM /Online /Enable-Feature /FeatureName:NetFx3 /All /LimitAccess /Source:d:\sources\sxs

 

Is there a way to get the list of names for all the other features as well source path for each of them since D:\Sources\SXS may not contain the installers for each of those features.



#6 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 02 September 2013 - 07:28

havent installed win8.1 yet. how to use 9600 dism in 9200?

LOL, out of my depths, hope some geek could answer you.

 

Thanks. I do have 3 legitimate copies of Windows 8 so I might try this.

 

What I was wondering after seeing the command

DISM /Online /Enable-Feature /FeatureName:NetFx3 /All /LimitAccess /Source:d:\sources\sxs

 

Is there a way to get the list of names for all the other features as well source path for each of them since D:\Sources\SXS may not contain the installers for each of those features.

Hope this helps : http://technet.micro...y/hh824822.aspx



#7 wrack

wrack

    Wireless Robotic Android Calibrated for Killing

  • Joined: 09-December 06
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 02 September 2013 - 23:27

Thanks. That link you posted was the in article from the earlier link. Should have read it in depth. Apologies for over looking.



#8 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 02 September 2013 - 23:29

I'd imagine so. Prepare your image as per usual, use something to capture it to a WIM, dump the source files to disk (and replace install.wim with your captured wim) and then use an app like wintoolkit to make a bootable ISO



#9 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 03 September 2013 - 11:04

:)  http://www.microsoft...mpatcenter/home

 

screen_118_zps3a82706f.jpg



#10 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 08 September 2013 - 06:40

:) VLSC is out...

 

screen_128_zps98d60fd5.jpg



#11 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 08 September 2013 - 08:14

screen_129_zps1553dcc4.jpg



#12 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 09 September 2013 - 20:46

If someone were to go through all this trouble, would they be able to upgrade their Windows 8 Pro with WMC to 8.1 Pro with Media Center with this ISO, or can it only be used for a clean install/a "Keep nothing" upgrade?



#13 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 09 September 2013 - 21:46

If someone were to go through all this trouble, would they be able to upgrade their Windows 8 Pro with WMC to 8.1 Pro with Media Center with this ISO, or can it only be used for a clean install/a "Keep nothing" upgrade?

AFAIK, it's only good for clean installs. :)



#14 Joni_78

Joni_78

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-April 04
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 10 September 2013 - 06:31

OT, can I do a clean install from retail 8.1 disc with my old w8 key?



#15 OP +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 10 September 2013 - 08:03

OT, can I do a clean install from retail 8.1 disc with my old w8 key?

Sure you can do that, but you need to enter the generic key on installation because it won't accept win8 keys, after installation enter your win8 key and activate - or - add a EI.cfg file to the ISO sources folder, then it won't ask for key on installation (I think it involves more work, unless you think of frequent re-installs).





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!