Jump to content



Photo

8.1 Start screen sync bork

windows 8.1

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 FATILA

FATILA

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 05

Posted 03 September 2013 - 21:52

Scenario: Desktop and laptop with 8.1, both signed into same outlook.com profile with everything including start screen set to sync. Also enrolled in same domain,

 

Result: Start screen apps not synced in position, or settings. 

 

Desired result: Sync!

 

Any ideas?




#2 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 03 September 2013 - 21:56

8.1 final or 8.1 preview?



#3 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 September 2013 - 21:57

Any ideas?

 

Wait for the final release?



#4 OP FATILA

FATILA

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 05

Posted 03 September 2013 - 22:36

8.1 final or 8.1 preview?

 

Final. RTM builds released last week.



#5 mastercoms

mastercoms

    Expert Microsoft Fanboy & C# Coder

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 21-May 13
  • Location: Marietta, Georgia
  • OS: W10 + Fedora 21
  • Phone: Lumia 928 WP8.1U1 Black

Posted 03 September 2013 - 22:53

PC Settings > SkyDrive > Sync settings

 

Check to see if everything you want is "On"

 

I'm sorry if this sounds like, "Is your computer plugged in?"

 

I didn't read at all.



#6 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 03 September 2013 - 22:57

Final. RTM builds released last week.

I am aware of that, but that doesn't tell me that you're using them.  Especially when it's not the official release so a lot of people aren't.



#7 BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:12

Do the settings sync properly if you remove both PCs from the domain?



#8 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:39

you expect a build that was leaked to sync? when the server isnt expecting 8.1 to be released yet

 

plus it might not be good idea to be using your account with a leaked product.



#9 +InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Win 8.1, OSX 10.10 & Ubuntu
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:48

Does anything sync at all?

 

I found it a bit useless in the preview as only your Modern apps would sync. The normal Windows apps shortcuts didn't so the Modern apps were all out of place when synced to another PC.



#10 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:54

you expect a build that was leaked to sync? when the server isnt expecting 8.1 to be released yet
 
plus it might be good idea to be using your account with a leaked product.

Personally, if something doesn't work on a leaked release I just say to myself, "what should I have expected?" and I will probably let it go. That said, there's no harm in asking for help, especially if someone has been able to get the synchronisation working.

Also, I think you meant to write that it would be a good idea to not be using his account with a leaked product, but if you meant what you said then I would be interested in hearing your reasoning. :)

So the question is, is it generally known that synchronisation isn't possible yet, or are there some people that have found a way to do it?

#11 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 04 September 2013 - 12:26

Personally, if something doesn't work on a leaked release I just say to myself, "what should I have expected?" and I will probably let it go. That said, there's no harm in asking for help, especially if someone has been able to get the synchronisation working.

Also, I think you meant to write that it would be a good idea to not be using his account with a leaked product, but if you meant what you said then I would be interested in hearing your reasoning. :)

So the question is, is it generally known that synchronisation isn't possible yet, or are there some people that have found a way to do it?

fixed.... after 3 tries...lol



#12 scorpian007

scorpian007

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-July 12
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 930 Orange

Posted 04 September 2013 - 12:41

Start screen sync works on my desktop/Surface Pro on 8.1. Didn't have to do anything except turn the options on under PC settings.