Jump to content



Photo

Apple Mail and Windows Live Mail


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 SpeedyTheSnail

SpeedyTheSnail

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-June 04
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 12 September 2013 - 18:30

Hello,

I have recently purchased a MacBook Pro (Mid 2010) and have been able to set all of my email accounts up with Apple Mail with no issues, except for one minor annoyance: Every few hours it says "Cannot connect to Windows Live Mail" with an enter password box. My password saved is correct, and when I press enter (Password box is pre-filled) it connects just fine.

 

What would cause Apple Mail to throw that error but connect fine when I press okay? How may I possibly fix it?

 

I have a feeling that this is Apple subliminally programming their Mail client to cause users of WLM to become annoyed and switch to Apple Mail [me.com]. I never trusted companies having interest of the user when in competition with other companies, and this may be a case :p.

 

Edit: I'll post a picture next time it happens which shouldn't be very long.




#2 OP SpeedyTheSnail

SpeedyTheSnail

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-June 04
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:07

Triple bump????



#3 KaoDome

KaoDome

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-August 09
  • Location: Spain

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:26

I just read this and don't know much about your client but, do you know what protocol it uses to connect to Microsoft accounts? If it's using POP3 now that Microsoft implemented IMAP support for their emails give it a try.

 

You can find the connection options in the "How to connect" part of this blog post, and more detailed steps for Macs here.



#4 OP SpeedyTheSnail

SpeedyTheSnail

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-June 04
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 20 September 2013 - 19:23

It turns out that Microsoft doesn't like people connecting more than every 15 minutes to check for mail, as when I changed my automatic sync times to every 15 minutes instead of every 5 minutes. Now I have no more issues.

 

For the record I was using IMAP, as I use IMAP on all of my accounts.

 

Thank you though, KaoDome.



#5 Rudy

Rudy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 01
  • Location: Ottawa, On

Posted 20 September 2013 - 19:29

I use IMAP and i check a lot more than every 15 mins





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!