Jump to content



Photo

Weird mouse issue

Answered Go to the full post windows 8

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Lunatic Fringe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 12 September 2013 - 22:57

This is going to be very tricky to explain, so apologies if I sound vague.
 
My brother's PC has picked up a very strange issue where the mouse cursor seems to only work when it wants to; clicks do not register most of the time (most notably on Flash objects, and the desktop icons, including the pinned icons on the taskbar), and usually if I click on a window that's currently focused on, it's no longer in focus. Now, the keyboard seems to work perfectly fine; I can Alt-Tab just fine and navigate ok using just the keyboard, it's just the mouse.
 
Here's the specs...
 
Motherboard (Socket 1150): MSI Z87-G43
Processor: Intel Core i5-4670K (Haswell)
SSD: 250GB Samsung 840 Series
HDD: 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black
RAM: 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance Jet Black
GPU: XFX Double D Radeon HD 7950 3GB GDDR5
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Tower: Zalman Z9 Plus
BD Drive: LiteOn IHOS104
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar DG
OS: Windows 8 64-Bit
Monitor: BenQ GL2450HM
Mouse: Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T 3
 
Now, so far, I've ran a full virus scan with Avast and found no issues, I've tried his mouse on my PC and it works just fine (bar the middle click, as it looks like he's already managed to break it in some way in just under three months; he's a pretty angry gamer), and I've tried using my Logitech Performance MX on his PC, and I wind up with the exact same issues, so the fault doesn't lie with the mouse here. Some of you might remember the previous issue I posted about his PC back in June. That is still ongoing, by the way; every morning, he has to follow the unusual routine to get the PC to actually boot to Windows: take out one of the two sticks of RAM, boot up and get the "CPU or Memory Changed !!!" message, then reseat the stick, and boot up again to finally get to Windows. I'm immediately assuming this new issue is related to the original one, meaning the fault would lie with either the motherboard or the RAM. But I've never encountered anything like this before, so I'm flying blind here and just taking wild stabs in the dark.
 
Does anyone have any potential solutions?


Best Answer Mindovermaster , 13 September 2013 - 20:41

Yeah, I'd say your board is toast.

Go to the full post



#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 12 September 2013 - 23:41

Did you do a Memtest on the RAM?



#3 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Lunatic Fringe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 13 September 2013 - 13:36

Did you do a Memtest on the RAM?

I'm running that right now. It said to keep it running at least 20 minutes, but I'll leave it for an hour or two and report back.



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 13 September 2013 - 13:53

I do at least 2 passes, but as most say, it is best to run overnight.



#5 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Lunatic Fringe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 13 September 2013 - 17:31

I do at least 2 passes, but as most say, it is best to run overnight.

 

It's run for nearly four hours now with no errors popping up. If I don't find an error with Memtest, would that mean the problem definitely lies with the motherboard? If so, then I'll contact MSI and get the motherboard exchanged ASAP (and try to find my thermal paste as well for when the new one arrives).



#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 13 September 2013 - 20:31

Did you try each stick by itself? (if 2 or more)



#7 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Lunatic Fringe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 13 September 2013 - 20:34

Did you try each stick by itself? (if 2 or more)

Unfortunately I can't; I can't go past the "CPU or Memory Changed !!!" message when I try that, as the motherboard isn't allowing any input from any keyboard (I've tried three different USB keyboards, and I don't have a PS/2 adapter anywhere).



#8 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 13 September 2013 - 20:41   Best Answer

Yeah, I'd say your board is toast.



#9 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Lunatic Fringe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 13 September 2013 - 23:52

Yeah, I'd say your board is toast.

 

Good enough for me. (Y) Just shut down the PC now, had two instances of the test running (as recommended by the program) for ten hours with no errors. I'll contact MSI in the morning and arrange for a replacement motherboard. Thanks for your help. :)