Jump to content



Photo

Computer Will Not Power Up


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Kerm

Kerm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 22 September 2013 - 09:43

Last night the computer was running fine.

When I shut it down it then kept restarting itself whenever I 'Shut Down', it would bounce back on again.

Even when I held the power button for 3 seconds to force shut down it restarted. So I switched the power supply off with the switch on the PSU and went to bed.

Today when I try to power on i get nothing. No fans, no noises, nadda.

 

Does it sound like my PSU is died quietly in the night? 

 

Cheers.




#2 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 22 September 2013 - 09:55

:yes:



#3 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 22 September 2013 - 11:54

Do the paperclip test just to be sure.



#4 helpifIcan

helpifIcan

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 10
  • Location: Northern Illinois

Posted 22 September 2013 - 17:20

I now this is a bit crazy but did you remember to turn the power switch back on, I'm sure you did but I have done things like that?



#5 OP Kerm

Kerm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 22 September 2013 - 18:48

^Ha, yeah thanks but it's back on. ;)

 

What, pray tell, is the paperclip test?



#6 xSuRgEx

xSuRgEx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-August 03
  • Location: Earth

Posted 22 September 2013 - 19:05

^Ha, yeah thanks but it's back on. ;)

 

What, pray tell, is the paperclip test?

its that super secret test that only a neowin members know.

gota love it when some one suggests a fix but does not link to any usefull information.

so here is what you do. you need a paper clip and insert it into the end connector of your psu, make sure all power is off at the mains and also switch off the power on the psu its self.

jump-start-2.jpg

 

when you have done this connect up a fan to one of the molex conectors and then power back on if your power supply is working the fan should startup

 the paper clip is replaceing  the power switch from your front pannel. but do not touch it while its on.



#7 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 22 September 2013 - 19:48

^Using green wire and a black wire.



#8 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 22 September 2013 - 22:40

A couple of times this happened to me, I fixed it by replacing the CMOS battery. :)



#9 OP Kerm

Kerm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 26 September 2013 - 13:38

Ok, thanks for all of the tips. I tried the paperclip test and the PSU fan did start up, 

So perhaps that suggests a loose power switch cable into the mobo or something similar?

:s



#10 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 26 September 2013 - 13:44

Did you try Hum's suggestion? Motherboards can behave quite strangely when the battery is weak or dead.



#11 OP Kerm

Kerm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 26 September 2013 - 14:10

Tried a new CMOS battery.

I've set it all back up again with just the absolute basics plugged in and I have Startup Repair going through. So I think I'll be able to get back to normal from here.

 

Saved by a paperclip then?

 

Wahoo.



#12 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:57

When I've had this happen to me it's always turned out to be a bad PSU.



#13 OP Kerm

Kerm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 04 October 2013 - 10:24

Well, I was wrong.

 

Set everything back up and now nothing again.

Swapped the PSU for a different one and still nothing.

 

This is now getting tedious. 

 

:?