Jump to content



Photo

Installing Office 2013 64-bit along side Office 2003 32-bit?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:06

I am getting:

 

We can’t install the 64-bit version of Office because we found the following 32-bit programs on your PC: 

  • Microsoft Office Professional Edition 2003
  • Compatibility Pack for the 2007 Office system
Please uninstall all 32-bit Office programs, then retry installing 64-bit Office.  If you want to install 32-bit Office instead, please run the 32-bit setup.

Is there a way to force this?




#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:09

You cannot install multiple versions of Office, no. You must uninstall 2003 first.



#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:11

You cannot install multiple versions of Office, no. You must uninstall 2003 first.

Damn. I much prefer Office 2003 over 2007/2010/2013 but I want to install Outlook 2013.

 

I'll grab the 32-bit version of Office 2013.



#4 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:16

Damn. I much prefer Office 2003 over 2007/2010/2013 but I want to install Outlook 2013.

 

I'll grab the 32-bit version of Office 2013.

 

You still won't be able to install a new version of Office with an old version on, whether it's x64 or x86, it just won't work.

 

Can I ask what is keeping you on 2003? Support for it ends the very same day support ends for XP.



#5 PeterTHX

PeterTHX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-December 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:20

Damn. I much prefer Office 2003 over 2007/2010/2013 but I want to install Outlook 2013.

 

I'll grab the 32-bit version of Office 2013.

 

Why? Because of the ribbon interface?

 

Office 2003 is clunky and out of date. It took a while getting used to the 2007 interface and now I vastly prefer it. I've upgraded to 2010 to 2013 as well.

 

A note of interest: when I installed 2013 it did NOT uninstall 2010!



#6 jakem1

jakem1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:22

You still won't be able to install a new version of Office with an old version on, whether it's x64 or x86, it just won't work.

 

Can I ask what is keeping you on 2003? Support for it ends the very same day support ends for XP.

 

That's not true.  You can install multiple versions of Office side by side as long as they have the same bitness and you install them in order (i.e. 2003 first and then 2013).  This has always been supported by Microsoft.



#7 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:24

That's not true.  You can install multiple versions of Office side by side as long as they have the same bitness and you install them in order (i.e. 2003 first and then 2013).  This has always been supported by Microsoft.

Huh. Get out of town...



#8 jakem1

jakem1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:26

Huh. Get out of town...

 

No :p



#9 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:38

No :p

Honestly thought that installing two versions of Office wasn't allowed. Usually, two versions of of one particular app don't play nice together.



#10 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:40

eb_kpv-2013.png

 

Winning (Y)



#11 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:46

It's still recommended that you look to drop 2003 soon, though. It'll pose a major security threat before long.



#12 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:48

It's still recommended that you look to drop 2003 soon, though. It'll pose a major security threat before long.

No tar :)



#13 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 23 September 2013 - 22:49

I'll add to the point that you can multiple version together.

 

It is recommended to use the 32-bit version of Office unless you specifically need the features of 64-bit, which is doubtful.  Mainly for Excel you get support for more cells, or something.  I can't remember.



#14 +Brando212

Brando212

    Causer of disasters

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: right behind you
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Posted 23 September 2013 - 23:02

Damn. I much prefer Office 2003 over 2007/2010/2013 but I want to install Outlook 2013.

 

I'll grab the 32-bit version of Office 2013.

hey king, mind if I ask what it is about the newer version you don't like?

if it's the ribbon then there's plenty of ways to disable that and use menus like before

if it's something else maybe we can make some suggestions



#15 betax

betax

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Joined: 23-October 01

Posted 23 September 2013 - 23:02

If the ribbon is your problem have a look at "http://www.ubit.ch/s...menu-languages/"  it adds a 'menu' tab that gives you all your classic menus back.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!