Jump to content



Photo

Making a client join a Active Directory over the internet


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 nasvpn

nasvpn

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-September 13

Posted 26 September 2013 - 08:31

Hello

 

Is it possible to add a client PC to a Active Directory over the internet? I believe the AD is 2003.

 

Thank you




#2 Skiver

Skiver

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: UK, Reading

Posted 26 September 2013 - 08:42

I could be wrong, but not without a VPN I can't see it being possible, you could try using something free like Hamachi



#3 OP nasvpn

nasvpn

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-September 13

Posted 26 September 2013 - 09:42

But the AD server would also have to be part of the VPN.....Thats the "problem" I have.



#4 Skiver

Skiver

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: UK, Reading

Posted 26 September 2013 - 09:50

If you are using something like Hamachi yes, but if the company had their own VPN system that would act as a VPN into the network rather than to a machine that would work.



#5 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 33
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 26 September 2013 - 11:14

You would need vpn. Auth would have to be standalone not ad radius

Correction to this, after taking a sip of my coffee this is wrong. You can have radius you can have cert based auth. To early in morning for me. Wish I could strike through on phone.

#6 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 26 September 2013 - 11:16

The AD Server doesnt nee to be PART of the VPN like you say. You have a VPN TO Your AD servers.



#7 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 33
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 26 September 2013 - 11:19

To clear this up the vpn needs to see the network ad is on. But that is the whole point of the vpn...so you can connect to your private network using the internet

#8 OP nasvpn

nasvpn

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-September 13

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:04

This there a way to establish a OpenVPN connection before the Windows 7 logon screen appears? I was able to VPN and make a PC join a domain but when I restarted it said there werent any authenticifation servers avaliable....

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 33
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:06

Here are the instructions for xp. 7 shouldn't be any different. http://forums.untang...windows-xp.html

#10 OP nasvpn

nasvpn

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-September 13

Posted 28 September 2013 - 17:30

Here are the instructions for xp. 7 shouldn't be any different. http://forums.untang...windows-xp.html

It does say since instructions are NOT for Vista. 7 is based on Vista so this would not work....

I went to the key entry and it doesnt exist. Logic tells me to make it myself but I dont know...

#11 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 33
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 28 September 2013 - 17:53

The first line states it wasn't tested on Vista. "Not tested" and "doesn't work for" are not the same. There may be some modification for it to work.

Read post #7 in that link.

#12 Jared-

Jared-

    Pick it, pack it, light it up...

  • Joined: 02-October 07
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows Server\OS X

Posted 07 January 2014 - 05:09

Setup Server 2012 DirectAccess, and then do offline domain join.