Jump to content



Photo

Computer crashing


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:56

I have this great rig that I build to future proof a couple years ago, I think it's in my sig - i7 extreme, dual 680's, Samsung Pro 840, 4 TB hard drive storage in RAID. Well lately, my computer has started blue screening on me and rebooting or if I leave it running for a while and come to wake it up it seems to be frozen. I really don't want to have to build a new system because I think what I have will last for some time to come. However, would you guys think that the RAM would be the first thing to check? It seems to be happening a lot when ripping my blu rays for my media center using DVD Fab but that's probably just because I use it a lot so that's where I notice it. I play a lot of Sim City and the other night it must have done it to me 4-5 times within about 15 minutes.

 

EDIT: Now that I think about this I've noticed a couple things lately. After boot I've been getting a message about a USB device malfunctioning. I don't know what it could be because everything is working. I've also noticed that my computer takes longer to boot because it seems stuck halfway through drawing the BIOS logo and then continues to boot. Maybe I should unplug everything USB and see what happens...




#2 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:45

Go unplug your USB devices and re-attach them one at a time (with a reboot between each) to see which develops the USB error message.



#3 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 27 September 2013 - 21:42

Well, I unplugged all devices and the computer booted so fast I couldn't believe it. I plugged in the mouse, no problem. Keyboard, no problem. Acer touchscreen USB 3 cable, no problem. Bose 5.1 USB cable, very slight pause in BIOS post but nothing like I was having. I might add that this Bose 5.1 (forget what it's called but it's 5.1 with 2 speakers) occasionally makes random loud noises while booting. Could it be the cause of the crashing? I doubt it? I still have a few devices to try, I'll report back for anyone interested.

 

EDIT: just after I typed this, I went to check on my dinner and heard my computer beep and came back and it was rebooting. Could this Bose USB audio really be the culprit?



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 27 September 2013 - 21:52

It could be. I don't really trust USB speakers to start out with. Can you run without them for awhile, see if things improve?



#5 John.D

John.D

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 10-November 09

Posted 27 September 2013 - 21:55

If its crashing disable / untick automatically restart. So you can see what the BSOD is saying. Get bluescreenview install / run it what does it say is the cause? Disable the logo in the BIOS, if you mean the logo on the post screen.

 

Then you'll see what its detecting / whats it's  not detecting / having probs with.

 

Also make sure the hdd is the boot disk in the BIOS. On some systems if it's on cd, it'll take longer to boot into windows



#6 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 13 October 2013 - 22:11

Well, my computer is randomly blue screening and rebooting. I thought maybe it was the USB speakers so I replaced them with regular speakers. It happened this morning when I wasn't even using the computer so I've been running memtest for several hours and 0 errors so far. All that I have plugged in right now are my keyboard, mouse, and monitor. What else could it be? Is there a test to see if the CPU is going bad?.

#7 Star-Pirate

Star-Pirate

    Privateer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 13 October 2013 - 22:45

Hi I had a similar problem with my PC... it turned out to be the NVIDIA 320 series drivers causing my PC to freeze and sometimes BSOD me. Have you tried updating or downgrading them. What happened was windows allocated my graphics card an IRQ address which my mainboard uses for the on-board USB ports, so when I changed anything connected to a USB port it froze my PC or BSOD. It only seemed to do it with the 320 series drivers installed, so I reverted back to 314.22... after that all was fine.



#8 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 14 October 2013 - 15:57

I have 2x mNivida 670 cards in SLI and use GeFore Experience which updates the drivers automatically. I've had this issue no matter what version of drivers I am using. Could it be a bad video card? My i7 Extreme is water cooled so I find it highly unlikely it's a CPU problem. It happens if I'm playing a game or if I'm in another room, I can hear the Windows startup sound from a reboot. The memtest yielded no errors.



#9 Star-Pirate

Star-Pirate

    Privateer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 14 October 2013 - 22:08

Try testing each card separately... I do know that some games can have issues running SLI, or with Crossfire but I don't think I've come across many issues using them just in Windows itself.

 

I do also recommend you possibly test your RAM... But make sure you test each stick separately as this give the best indication of any memory faults (I know It's a pain to do). Then test with all of your RAM installed...

 

Try http://www.memtest86.com/download.htm as this is the latest version of MemTest86, as MemTest86+ has not been updated in a long while.

 

Also if you wish to properly test your CPU try Prime95 http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/... as this fires loads of Prime numbers at your CPU if your PC crashes using it then it's a CPU issue. When you use it just click I want to stress test my CPU...



#10 Star-Pirate

Star-Pirate

    Privateer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 15 October 2013 - 08:53

There is one thing I forgot to mention... if your processor is over clocked try turn the over clock down a little. As not all processers are manufactured the same, some will clock higher and some will clock a little lower. Then test with Prime95 as if there an issues with the over clock, it will show up as your PC will either lock up or BSOD.



#11 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 15 October 2013 - 17:06

The OS could be corrupted so if you have a spare HDD you could try a test OS install to see if its any more stable.

 

It is possible one of your cards has bad ram that can cause a problem so try running one at a time and you can test the ram with this.
https://simtk.org/home/memtest/

 

 



#12 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 15 October 2013 - 19:37

Well, I unplugged all devices and the computer booted so fast I couldn't believe it. I plugged in the mouse, no problem. Keyboard, no problem. Acer touchscreen USB 3 cable, no problem. Bose 5.1 USB cable, very slight pause in BIOS post but nothing like I was having. I might add that this Bose 5.1 (forget what it's called but it's 5.1 with 2 speakers) occasionally makes random loud noises while booting. Could it be the cause of the crashing? I doubt it? I still have a few devices to try, I'll report back for anyone interested.

 

EDIT: just after I typed this, I went to check on my dinner and heard my computer beep and came back and it was rebooting. Could this Bose USB audio really be the culprit?

 

could be a USB device.  I had a few iPod docks/speakers connected to my old work PC.  When I turned on the laptop, it would boot to a flashing cursor only until I unplugged the USB dock and restarted the system.  I have seen external hard drives and flash drives cause issues with starting a system while they were plugged in.



#13 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 16 October 2013 - 13:31

There is one thing I forgot to mention... if your processor is over clocked try turn the over clock down a little. As not all processers are manufactured the same, some will clock higher and some will clock a little lower. Then test with Prime95 as if there an issues with the over clock, it will show up as your PC will either lock up or BSOD.

Hmm, yeah my CPU has been overclocked for all the time I've had it which is like 3 years and it's water cooled. I suppose I could try bumping it down and see if the issue goes away.



#14 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 18 October 2013 - 13:17

I had 2 blue screens last night while playing SimCity in addition to the computer just crashing when it's sitting idle. I'm going to take out my 2 nVidia 670's and put in a 580 I still have and see if it still crashes. If that solves it, is there a good single card solution out right now that will be on par with SLI 670's without breaking my bank? My 670's can still max out settings in just about game I play.



#15 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 19 October 2013 - 16:40

Still haven't tested the old video card but I have money one that being the problem. Should I look for a single card solution on par or better than the SLI 670's like the 770? Or is it cheaper to go with a single card like the Titan? I looked at newegg and the Titan is a thousand bucks so that's not happening. Since my 670's handled all my games what should I go for now? maybe dual 770's?

 

EDIT: And for testing purposes, is it sufficient to disable the 670's 1 at a time in device manager or do I need to physically remove them?