Jump to content



Photo

Linux Distro Search


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 MikeFu84

MikeFu84

    m0o!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-December 03
  • Location: Fredericton, NB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64 Pro / Mac OS X 10.9.5 Mavericks
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (KitKat 4.4.4 w/ Franco Kernel)

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:28

Going to start off by saying I have some experience using Linux but not a lot. I've used Red Hat before it became Fedora. Tried Fedora a few times as well as Ubuntu and Mint.

 

I am here in search of a distro that will run smoothly on a laptop I own. I tried Mint (14) and it was very laggy on my again laptop.

 

Specs of Laptop (Dell Inspiron 1300)

1.7GHz Intel Centrino

512MB Ram

60GB HDD

8MB Intel Graphics

 

Just looking at some suggestions for something that will run smoothly on my aging hardware, so many possibilities my research has me going all over. Looking from responses from others that have had a similar experience that I am about to embark on.




#2 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:38

If you want to get EXTRA performance out of that, you'd need something like gentoo and you'd have to configure all the build tools to your exact hardware...

If on the other hand you want something that won't need to you know a hell of a lot about compiling, hardware, etc. then you'd be better off with any large linux distro and just not use KDE or Gnome, try LXDE and XFCE or Mate if you liked gnome 2.x



#3 grabageek

grabageek

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-November 12
  • Location: Derby
  • OS: Linux, Windows, Android

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:39

<- Is an OpenSuSE fan - I find it easy yet powerful - you may want to give it a spin.



#4 +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:39

i would go for lubuntu in that case.



#5 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:46

You should try Old Distro (even Mint) not newer for that hardware if you want to run Gnome.

Try Xfce desktop, its lightweight. Xfce with Suse.



#6 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:48

Had Xubuntu running on an old laptop of mine for a while, XFCE's not usually my thing but it actually looked and ran rather well. Personally one of the better desktops in the lightweight class, doesn't sacrifice too much in functionality.

#7 OP MikeFu84

MikeFu84

    m0o!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-December 03
  • Location: Fredericton, NB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64 Pro / Mac OS X 10.9.5 Mavericks
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (KitKat 4.4.4 w/ Franco Kernel)

Posted 27 September 2013 - 13:42

I may try Mint XFCE. I have already tried Mint Cinnamon and it was painful. Will look into the Suse options, have always wanted to try one of those.



#8 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 27 September 2013 - 13:46

Arch Linux is sweet



#9 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 September 2013 - 13:47

Cinnamon is based upon GNOME3 and needs a full 3D card to work, plus even on decent hardware it actually still runs much worse than GNOME3.



#10 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 27 September 2013 - 14:17

Cinnamon is based upon GNOME3 and needs a full 3D card to work, plus even on decent hardware it actually still runs much worse than GNOME3.

 

Cinnamon runs worse than GNOME? I thought cinnamon was a step down from GNOME as far as eyecandy.



#11 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 27 September 2013 - 14:19

XFC works well. 



#12 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 27 September 2013 - 14:29

XFC works well. 

 

That's XFCE :rofl:



#13 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 September 2013 - 14:33

Cinnamon runs worse than GNOME? I thought cinnamon was a step down from GNOME as far as eyecandy.

Yes but for some reason even with a pretty decent graphics card and quad-core CPU, small things like dragging and resizing windows lags like hell in cinnamon but doesn't in GNOME3. My macbook runs OSX fine and GNOME3 on arch fine, but can only just run cinnamon on arch, fans run at top speed and the lag makes it pretty much unusable (in both 3D and forced 2D modes)



#14 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 27 September 2013 - 14:45

That's XFCE :rofl:

:rofl:



#15 OP MikeFu84

MikeFu84

    m0o!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-December 03
  • Location: Fredericton, NB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64 Pro / Mac OS X 10.9.5 Mavericks
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (KitKat 4.4.4 w/ Franco Kernel)

Posted 27 September 2013 - 15:27

Ya I am running Mint 15 XFCE right now, posting from there. Seems to run well. Task Manager shows 132 processes and 30-45% CPU usage and ~50% memory usage. I am hoping I can tweak things a bit to bring those numbers down. Currently all default install with most recent updates installed.