Jump to content



Photo

Switching tabs in Chrome causes garbled audio

chrome

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 30 September 2013 - 12:43

I use a Windows 8 app called "Webradio" which is what I use during the day for some tunes, but recently whenever I'm switching tabs in the Desktop version of Chrome it causes the audio to sound distorted for a second. It happens everytime, and only whenever tab switching, nothing on any website (scrolling, flash content or no flash content for example) or single tab causes it either.

 

I checked IE 11 (on Windows 8.1) and tab switching there does not cause the problem.

 

I also disabled all extensions, relaunched Chrome etc to see if it was an extension, and it doesn't appear to be. 

 

What could be causing it? I'm on Chrome 30 btw.

 

Plugins (need Silverlight for Windows Developer websites)

SNAG-0001.png




#2 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 01 October 2013 - 06:59

No-one?



#3 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 01 October 2013 - 08:08

Just recently few snapshots back, one bug fix related to tab flashing when switching landed in which view field becomes invisible during switching and flashes with white window, it could be similar to this and it is in M32 BTW but I am sometime super dumb to correlate things, so I try to suggest few other stuff do you as well:

 

Try these tips:

https://code.google....etail?id=178626

 

https://bbs.archlinu...c.php?id=160605

 

 

Bug still opened:

https://code.google....detail?id=84231



#4 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 01 October 2013 - 08:38

That didn't help but thanks for the reply :)



#5 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 01 October 2013 - 10:27

NM I found the issue, it was my graphics driver.



#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 01 October 2013 - 10:31

I sometimes have garbled audio on youtube vids if I siwtch tabs as well... pretty annoying.



#7 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 01 October 2013 - 10:31

NM I found the issue, it was my graphics driver.

 

Congratulations!!! I told you I am dumb.

Can you tell exactly which thing was culprit like nvidia, AMD or Intel and which version so people can also take help from this thread. Hope you don't mind it.



#8 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 01 October 2013 - 10:35

Yep, I have an old board (ASUS PK5-E WIFI) with a NVidia 560 GTX card and the Windows 8.1 drivers have caused nothing but problems for me. I thought the latest WHQL Windows driver solved the issues but my PC locked up an hour ago (what I was getting with older Windows 8.1 drivers) so I reverted to the driver that didn't give me any problems which is a Windows 8 64 bit driver version 320.18, did a clean install (through the NVidia installer) and unchecked everything but the Graphics driver.

 

I don't game on my PC anymore so I don't need all the other crap that comes with the package. I also hid the Windows Update updated driver (and HD Audio driver) because it again tries to offer the latest WHQL driver.

 

Result is that tab switching now doesn't garble the audio and hopefully no more lockups!

 

One day I'll upgrade this PC :p