Jump to content



Photo

Office 2013 Help!


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:25

Hi, I'm annoyed..... moving on

 

I work in  a small computer repair shop for the last 10 years and this is probably the first time I'm stumped (at least in a long time anyways)

 

Office 2013 Home and Student.  Every installation I've done for my customers there has been a problem.  I've got a method now at least that I can get in to install with no problems, but it's always a few steps that should be unnecessary.  The only thing now is that after 2 weeks approximately they've started to come back.  No help from MS, their support is just terrible and my suppliers "claim" they've got no complaints about it.  

 

So as far as installation goes, I get this message "something went wrong".... no error code or anything helpful like that.  I gotta run an MS Office removal tool, even if Office was never installed on the computer before...., eventually it works.

 

But now people are coming back.  Friday I had one that when you went to save Office came up with an error message like something with wrong with background installation, or something like that

 

Now I have one that when you start and office product nothing happens, no running task in the task manager and no windows event logs, I'm running a repair install , which has been on stage 2 of 4 for about an hour now.  

 

Any one else having problems with this? I can't be the only one, cause I'm about to have a nervous breakdown here...




#2 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:27

I've installed about 100 licenses in the last 3 months and the only issue I have had is one relating to a user mistake.

 

Check your installation media. From reading this, it sounds like you're installing from one of the streaming installers..



#3 OP Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:31

I've installed about 100 licenses in the last 3 months and the only issue I have had is one relating to a user mistake.

 

Check your installation media. From reading this, it sounds like you're installing from one of the streaming installers..

 

 

I downloaded the offline image, first thing I did....



#4 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:36

Is it Office 365 Home and Student?

 

I don't know what the situation is like over in Ireland for Office.

 

It's still a stream installer for 365 even when it's offline. Would explain the latter issues. Might be worth checking to see if there is a later version?



#5 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:39

I've installed about 10/20 in the last few months and have never had a single problem.

 

Even using the streaming installers not a single problem.



#6 OP Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 30 September 2013 - 16:12

jugHEBI.png?1
 

 

here is the very helpful message I get

 

so are you saying that even if I download the 2GB image and install it that way that it is still streaming some information?



#7 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 30 September 2013 - 16:14

Does the installer spit an error code that you can see in Event Viewer (eventvwr.msc)?



#8 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 30 September 2013 - 16:18

jugHEBI.png?1


here is the very helpful message I get

so are you saying that even if I download the 2GB image and install it that way that it is still streaming some information?


Last time I downloaded the 2GB image it still required an internet connection to install so, unless something has changed since, I would say so :/

#9 OP Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 30 September 2013 - 16:34

Does the installer spit an error code that you can see in Event Viewer (eventvwr.msc)?

 

no error messages just logs that the installation started and then ended...

 

My internet is terrible, could that really be the issue though, it's very frustrating...



#10 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 30 September 2013 - 16:46

It's definitely strange - but doesn't explain why people are coming back post-op. I would expect the installer to fail or complain if it failed its own file integrity checks.

IME Office 2013 has been fairly resilient to being borked. I once had a failing hard drive that corrupted several files in my Office program directory. Office repaired itself by downloading web files on my next startup.

#11 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 30 September 2013 - 16:51

no error messages just logs that the installation started and then ended...

 

My internet is terrible, could that really be the issue though, it's very frustrating...

just a thought but did you check to make sure the SHA keys of the iso matches what's on the site?

could possibly be a corrupt image

aside from that try to get ahold of an msdn or technet image as i think those are a little different than the main iso (i'm pretty sure they don't require internet connection)



#12 Breach

Breach

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-October 01
  • Location: Brussels, Belgium

Posted 02 October 2013 - 22:37

Are you doing automated installations of the OS or manual? That is to say - is the baseline the same or every install is different?

 

You're not trying to install Office while installing other stuff are you? Such problems often happen when the MSI is doing stuff in parallel. Have you tried an Office 2013 install after a reboot, no other programs running and not touching anything while it installs?





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!