Jump to content



Photo

New build need to do something with this cable also fans


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 bazb

bazb

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • Location: North Ayrshire
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iphone 5s

Posted 02 October 2013 - 10:04

This is my first build in about 7yrs:
This time cable management is key I want to be able to hide as much as possible..
So can I hide this CPU power cable behind me motherboard?

Also I have a big fan at the front and space for another 3 top of the case side window and rear and bottom
Would it be wise to inc these sooner than later


#2 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 02 October 2013 - 12:05

It depends on both PSU

- does the length of CPU power cable permit it?

...and the case

- does it even have a hole at the top and does the case have enough space behind the board, so that you can close the side panel without too much trouble



#3 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 02 October 2013 - 12:40

Make sure you get one of the new cases that allows you to put cables beind the motherboard plate. and it all goes away untill they pop out at the hole closest to where they need to go



#4 D. S.

D. S.

    Hate is the new Love

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Location: Portugal
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nokia 113

Posted 02 October 2013 - 12:56

Buy a case with decent cable management options and you should be set. Even if you think that a Mid-tower would suffice, buy a Full tower case. It will save you a lot of headaches in cable management and adding components in the future.  A modular PSU is also a must.



#5 OP bazb

bazb

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • Location: North Ayrshire
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iphone 5s

Posted 02 October 2013 - 14:42

Here a pic it's a cool master k380 case, it's gets in the way with standard cooler which is going ... Could take it to the side and over them ram but its very tight and touching the ram...

Attached Images

  • image.jpg


#6 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 02 October 2013 - 14:56

At very least, you can probably squeeze the cable behind the top right corner of the motherboard.

 

That's what I'd do.



#7 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 02 October 2013 - 19:52

Yeah, well, as nice as K380 (and its cousin K280) is for starters (and has decent amount of space behind the board), it doesn't have the hole.

 

Either squeeze it as Astra says (#1 in the pic) or get a bunch of cable ties and route it as #2 in the pic - all expansion cards have a hole that permits this. Hold it fixed by tying together with front panel audio and USB. Admittedly, it's not nearly as pretty, but still better than none at all.

 

post-363422-0-80380200-1380725340.jpg

 

Or you could make that hole with a dremel :p



#8 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 03 October 2013 - 10:40

If needed you can get an extension cable for the 8 pin.

http://www.scan.co.u...eps12v-uv-white



#9 OP bazb

bazb

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • Location: North Ayrshire
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iphone 5s

Posted 04 October 2013 - 21:00

ty i ordered the extention :D