Jump to content



Photo

Best Wi-fi Booster for PC ... ?

Answered Go to the full post internet windows 7 amplify wi-fi signal

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#16 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:42

Just use Ethernet. I had horrible wifi downstairs so I just got a powerline adapter. It works great for steaming movies downstairs or vice versa. Its easy to setup too. I prefer this to wifi especially if you do gaming.

Powerline is good for reliability but not always for speed.




#17 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 12 October 2013 - 01:11

Environment specs: 2 walls, a brick chimney, a solid wood dresser and a fat cat. 

 

With Homeplug adapters:

I have an average transfer rate of 8Mbytes/sec

 

Wireless:

Wireless N 2.4Ghz I have 12-14Mbytes/sec average transfer rate.

Wireless N 5Ghz I have 15Mbytes/sec.

Wireless AC 5Ghz I have 22Mbytes/sec 

 

All measured with LAN speed test and graphed with PRTG

 

 

 

Received and installed Amped wifi booster today.

 

It did boost the download speed 2X.

 
Glad to hear this! Post screenshots with InSSIDer please...


#18 fmanchu

fmanchu

    Free loader

  • Joined: 15-July 11
  • Location: Wisconsin

Posted 12 October 2013 - 01:15

Get an Amped router or AP if you want a ton of range. I would never, ever, ever buy a Belkin router. Even after the Linksys name purchase.

 

Also, NOTHING can guarantee you an 'excellent' signal.

I agree, never, ever, ever, ever buy a Belkin.



#19 bridges

bridges

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-August 12
  • Location: RI
  • OS: Windows 7 on desk top and 8 on laptop
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 12 October 2013 - 01:23

Get an Amped router or AP if you want a ton of range. I would never, ever, ever buy a Belkin router. Even after the Linksys name purchase.

 

Also, NOTHING can guarantee you an 'excellent' signal.

How come never buy a Belkin? I always bought Belkin, I thought they were good.

 

Did they buy out Linksys?



#20 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 12 October 2013 - 01:26

How come never buy a Belkin? I always bought Belkin, I thought they were good.

 

Did they buy out Linksys?

 

Linksys is a CICO bi-company, so belkin can never buy them out.



#21 bridges

bridges

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-August 12
  • Location: RI
  • OS: Windows 7 on desk top and 8 on laptop
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 12 October 2013 - 01:34

Linksys is a CICO bi-company, so belkin can never buy them out.

Looks like they bought the Linksys division.

 http://www.belkin.co.../8798748542012/



#22 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 12 October 2013 - 02:07

My sis had a Belkin and it barely lasted a day. Couldn't even keep system time properly. She returned it and got another brand (not disclosing) and it was better. 

 

Moral of the story: Never trust a 35 dollar router from wal-mart.



#23 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 12 October 2013 - 02:34

My sis had a Belkin and it barely lasted a day. Couldn't even keep system time properly. She returned it and got another brand (not disclosing) and it was better. 

 

Moral of the story: Never trust a 35 dollar router from wal-mart.

I wouldn't trust a $3000 router if it was from Belkin  :D



#24 bridges

bridges

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-August 12
  • Location: RI
  • OS: Windows 7 on desk top and 8 on laptop
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 12 October 2013 - 11:36

I wouldn't trust a $3000 router if it was from Belkin  :D

I don't understand why no one likes Belkin? Should I be tossing mine and getting something else?



#25 episode

episode

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-December 01

Posted 12 October 2013 - 13:41

I don't understand why no one likes Belkin? Should I be tossing mine and getting something else?

 

Because they are crap?

If I had a choice between  a 10 year old WRT54G or the top of the line Belkin router, I'd pick the WRT.



#26 episode

episode

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-December 01

Posted 12 October 2013 - 13:41

Linksys is a CICO bi-company, so belkin can never buy them out.

 

Because it didn't happen 6 months ago.



#27 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 12 October 2013 - 13:43

My sis had a Belkin and it barely lasted a day. Couldn't even keep system time properly. She returned it and got another brand (not disclosing) and it was better. 

 

Moral of the story: Never trust a 35 dollar router from wal-mart.

How about a $40 router from K-Mart ... ? :p



#28 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 12 October 2013 - 15:30

I don't understand why no one likes Belkin? Should I be tossing mine and getting something else?

I wouldn't say they're completely awful, but they have a long history of making great hardware and supporting it about as little as possible.

 

Linksys hasn't been that much better IMO.



#29 bridges

bridges

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-August 12
  • Location: RI
  • OS: Windows 7 on desk top and 8 on laptop
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 12 October 2013 - 16:13

I wouldn't say they're completely awful, but they have a long history of making great hardware and supporting it about as little as possible.

 

Linksys hasn't been that much better IMO.

Oh. Every time I had a problem they sent me a brand new one within a couple days, so I thought there was something with the product. 

 

I have to upgrade to one of those new 3.0 modems so maybe I try the amped router.



#30 DKAngel

DKAngel

    That i cannot own ....I shall destroy

  • Joined: 20-July 03
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 16 October 2013 - 11:01

Wifi router is run off a cable modem, and Comcast wants more money if you add a 2nd router.

 

 

thats what i ment as in just add another how will they know?