Jump to content



Photo

What is a good network configuration?


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Flowerpower12

Flowerpower12

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-October 13

Posted 06 October 2013 - 17:20

Hello,

 

The company I work for has given me the task of researching a good network configuration for our new office. The network will run Windows Server 2008 and 15 employees will work at the office. There is a server room and a conference room.The network should have capabilities to connect guests and additional visiting employees. Wireless networking capability is also important. In addition, traveling employees should be able to connect to the network when they travel. We also need some kind of backup solution.

 

What kind of network configuration and hardware do you people suggest for the above mentioned needs? Thank you in advance. 

 




#2 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 06 October 2013 - 17:24

My recommendation is one network with Active Directory, DNS and DHCP servers. Internet access through a proxy. Routing and Remote access will allow for VPN for remote users. As far as concerning wireless access, I would recommend a router that supports guest networks so that non-employees are not on your network. Moreover, I would recommend an intranet which is available over the internet with SSL so that users can access resources without the need for VPN. Let me know if you want me to expand on any of the above :D



#3 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 06 October 2013 - 17:29

I imagine this thread is going to turn into a Flame War. You need to give us Wayyyyyyyyyyyyyy more information than that. What do you have now? Do you plan of Virtualizing? Do you have existing infrastructure. Do you need VLAN's? Most probably. Do you have any security concerns. Do you have a big budget or are you looking at Open Source. The NETWORK wont run Windows Server. The SERVER will run that. The NETWORK might run Cisco IOS, Not Apple iOS. Dont confuse the two? Do you have a domain? So Wireless Security? Lets touch on that. Have you seen Cisco Lobby Manager? What have you looked at so far? Do you have an admin team?

 

Edit...

 

Are you going to be doing Tape Backups? Offsite backups? Incremental? How Often? How much Data? What link speed?

 

If you mention the 'the cloud' I will come to your office and break your fingers to stop you posting again ;-)



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 October 2013 - 17:34

I have to ask - why have you been tasked with this, are you the person that has linux running at home or something?

 

If you were actually qualified to do what you have been tasked for - there would be no reason for your post.

 

I suggest you contact a company to help set up your office with the features you need to be honest.

 

You might want to reach out to say sc302 - not sure where you located, but I believe the company he works for handles this sort of thing.  I would point you to mine - but unless your talking 10 or so million in business over a 3 year period we wouldn't even look at you.

 

If your in the chicagoland area I would be more than happy to help set you all up..  But sorry your not going to get the details you need from a post in a thread on some tech board.

 

Now if you had a question between which tape library might be best, or which wireless controller to go with, or the finer points of running say your AD dns on bind vs MS dns, etc.  Then thread might get you some info you need.

 

But your asking for a network design, without 1 piece of info to go with other than say 15 users..  Do you have any sort of budget even?  Are you talking thousands or 10's of thousands or actual real money to setup something good?

 

Or you talking a PC running server OS with a wireless router that supports vpn..  There you go your needs have been met - oh your backup, pickup a external disk and plug it in once a week.. There you go - I can draw that up for you if you want ;)  That can support 15 users without much issue.  Can be done for pennies!

 

http://technet.micro...v=msdn.10).aspx

http://www.cisco.com...9925/index.html

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833122058

http://www.amazon.co...S/dp/B00F0DD0I6

http://www.amazon.co...icrosever gen 8

 

There you go connect those - add some disks and you have a smb setup.

 

edit:  Here I drew up your network between plays during the game(s)

 

 

Attached Images

  • yournetwork.png


#5 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 06 October 2013 - 17:34

I have to ask - why have you been tasked with this, are you the person that has linux running at home or something?

 

If you were actually qualified to do what you have been tasked for - there would be no reason for your post.

 

I suggest you contact a company to help set up your office with the features you need to be honest.

 

QFT! Exactly.



#6 FriendlyBully

FriendlyBully

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 12

Posted 06 October 2013 - 17:35

I recommend using the cloud.

#7 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 06 October 2013 - 20:58

I recommend using the cloud.

 

Right where are you? :-p ....



#8 Walid W.

Walid W.

    https://nabz0r.info

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP

Posted 06 October 2013 - 21:05

Moved to Internet, Network & Security.



#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 21
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 06 October 2013 - 21:24

This is simple to setup. While I don't work for a consulting company any more, I could do this quickly and easily. Get everything up and running in about a day or two once everything is ordered.

#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 October 2013 - 21:43

Hey dude send me a pm - where are you working now.. I thought this stuff was right up your alley?  Didn't you use to support the small ma and pop shops?

 

Problem I have is have company I currently work for doesn't even look at you unless your talking 10+ million.. 

 

But as you I love these little side jobs and if in the area would love to set them up and rock them - give them the neowin discount even..  Could use some extra cash for the holidays..  I always have the most fun setting up the small locations with a limited budget - how much bang for the buck can you get is lots of fun!!

 

And then I only charge them a day rate for the design and then a day or 2 to set it up and your golden...  I would be even willing to fly out for a weekend or something if they are located in a good location where we could have some fun...  Maybe we should setup something and rock out these people with questions like this -- and we fly out to where they are at and have a weekend setting up gear in the day and drinking at night!! ;)



#11 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 07 October 2013 - 11:05

Hey dude send me a pm - where are you working now.. I thought this stuff was right up your alley?  Didn't you use to support the small ma and pop shops?

 

Problem I have is have company I currently work for doesn't even look at you unless your talking 10+ million.. 

 

But as you I love these little side jobs and if in the area would love to set them up and rock them - give them the neowin discount even..  Could use some extra cash for the holidays..  I always have the most fun setting up the small locations with a limited budget - how much bang for the buck can you get is lots of fun!!

 

And then I only charge them a day rate for the design and then a day or 2 to set it up and your golden...  I would be even willing to fly out for a weekend or something if they are located in a good location where we could have some fun...  Maybe we should setup something and rock out these people with questions like this -- and we fly out to where they are at and have a weekend setting up gear in the day and drinking at night!! ;)

 

 

Haha I just noticed the word drinking! I would fly out from the UK for this ;-)



#12 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 07 October 2013 - 11:27

Hello,

Like some have said, implementing a network in a workplace is a very vague topic as there are so many factors to weigh in.

A key is that you have to state your budget. This would really be a good starting point.

Also, do you have a "high up" role or have you been simple tasked to do this? I ask this because you might be a code monkey with some networking knowledge tasked to do this but you have no financial push that limits your budget (again) and to throw away or change equipment (which might have been expensive to buy in the first place). I have been in this position so I can understand.

We need some more feedback please.

Thank you.

#13 OP Flowerpower12

Flowerpower12

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-October 13

Posted 07 October 2013 - 14:20

Hi again,

 

I'm sorry that I provided so vague information, but I kind of wanted to fill in the blanks myself, and just get some general advice that I can follow-up on. Of course, I did not expect any consulting services for free. However, I realize now that I should have provided more information, in addition to not assuming that people can read my mind. Also, I'm not so used on posting on forums, and my experience in computers is in a different field; although the boss asked me to act as a kind of personal consultant when the actual external network consultants are brought in. After doing some more research, I think that I have a pretty good idea on what kind of setup we need.



#14 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 07 October 2013 - 16:24

 

I think that I have a pretty good idea on what kind of setup we need.

 

 

So are you going to tell us? So you recon you can talk to a Techie/Network Sales person and fully understand what they mean when they talk about VPNs/Subnets/VLANS/IDP/Identity Services Engines/RADIUS Authentication or any of the other 1 million things you have to consider when setting up a network.



#15 xpablo

xpablo

    XPablo

  • Joined: 11-December 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro

Posted 07 October 2013 - 16:39

IMO that's pretty scary scene when somebody is given the task to set up a network for a business and they go onto Neowin or any other website and have to ask what solution is best.

 

That's like a Surgeon asking what type of operation is best for these symptoms.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!