Jump to content



Photo

Watch Dogs requires 6GB of RAM, 64-bit Windows


  • Please log in to reply
232 replies to this topic

#1 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:00

This makes me all giddy.

 

Minimum
  • Supported OS: Windows Vista SP2 64bit, Windows 7 SP1 64bit, Windows 8 64bit
  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66Ghz or AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.0Ghz
  • RAM: 6 GB
  • Video Card: 1024 VRAM DirectX 11 with Shader Model 5.0 (see supported list)
  • Sound Card: DirectX 9 compatible Sound Card
  • This product supports 64-bit operating systems ONLY
Recommended
  • Processor: Core i7 3770 @ 3.5Ghz or AMD FX-8350 @ 4.0Ghz
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • Video Card: 2048 VRAM DirectX 11 with Shader Model 5.0 or higher (see supported list)
  • Sound Card: Surround Sound 5.1 capable sound card
  • Supported Video Cards at Time of Release:
  • nVidia GeForce GTX460 or better, GT500, GT600, GT700 series;
  • AMD Radeon HD5850 or better, HD6000, HD7000, R7 and R9 series
  • Intel® Iris™ Pro HD 5200
http://www.pcgamer.c...um-6-gb-of-ram/

 

This is the effect of next-gen consoles right there. Games have been content with 32-bit executables and 2GB of RAM for a while, simply because Xbox 360 and PS3 only had 512MB memory total. With Xbox One and PS4 both sporting 8GB of memory, you can expect most future games to require or at least run significantly better on 64-bit systems with large RAM pools.

 

Also with both systems having relatively low-IPC 8-core CPUs, multicore scaling should get way better as well, but that's merely speculation.

 

About damn time I say!  :)




#2 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:03

Sounds good to me, as I'm all for developers pushing PC gaming forward. However, it does seem silly to me that the game doesn't scale to lower spec machines when the game is being released for X360 and PS3, both of which have a fraction of the power.



#3 Undead Steve

Undead Steve

    O.O

  • Joined: 03-June 13
  • Location: New Orleans
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:04

Also notice the minimum Video Card is one with Direct X11 support, I know quite a few people who will have to upgrade because they currently run 2 GFX Cards in SLI/Crossfire that are only D10 compatible.



#4 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:08

the usual bloat-ism as always?



#5 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:08

I remember when games needed a 200mhz processor and 32mb of ram lol



#6 OP Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:09

GTX 460 and HD 5850 are fairly ancient now. The 6GB RAM requirement might be the biggest stumbling block for users though. A quick look at the latest Steam Survey shows more than 50% of users won't meet the requirement.



#7 notchinese

notchinese

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-October 12

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:12

fine by me, so long as they know their target audience size, and don't blame sales #'s on piracy.



#8 Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:17

So future-proofing a computer system is possible. Built my system in 2010, upgraded my RAM to 24GB in 2011, ready to go here 2 years later.



#9 PeterTHX

PeterTHX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-December 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:17

I remember when games needed a 200mhz processor and 32mb of ram lol

 

My Atari VCS (2600) was 1.19MHz and had 128 bytes (that's right, bytes) of RAM.

 

I played that thing for 10 years.



#10 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:21

CoD Ghosts
 

Minimum System Requirements
•OS: Windows 7 64-Bit / Windows 8 64-Bit
•CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 2.66 GHZ / AMD Phenom X3 8750 2.4 GHZ or better
•RAM: 6 GB RAM
•HDD: 50 GB HD space
•Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti / ATI Radeon HD 5870 or better
•Sound: DirectX Compatible Sound Card
•DirectX: 11
•Internet: Broadband connection and service required for Multiplayer Connectivity. Internet connection required for activation.



Recommended System Requirements
•Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780

http://www.geforce.c...em-requirements

 

GTX 780 :rofl:



#11 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Starry

  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Elsewhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:21

This makes me all giddy.

 

 

This is the effect of next-gen consoles right there. Games have been content with 32-bit executables and 2GB of RAM for a while, simply because Xbox 360 and PS3 only had 512MB memory total. With Xbox One and PS4 both sporting 8GB of memory, you can expect most future games to require or at least run significantly better on 64-bit systems with large RAM pools.

 

Also with both systems having relatively low-IPC 8-core CPUs, multicore scaling should get way better as well, but that's merely speculation.

 

About damn time I say!  :)

Battlefield 4s main build is 64 bit also, and CoD: Ghosts apparently requires a 64 bit OS.

 

About damn time indeed.



#12 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:26

Hmmm, doesn't scale back for older PC hardware, even when it's coming out of the 360/PS3.

 

It's like a bad PC port, only in reverse of what we're used to.



#13 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:31

CoD Ghosts
 

 

GTX 780 :rofl:

 

That pretty much has to be fake.



#14 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 October 2013 - 05:02

That pretty much has to be fake.

 

It's from the nVidia site, of COURSE they want you to think a 780 is recommended.



#15 mrp04

mrp04

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-June 04

Posted 09 October 2013 - 05:17

About damn time games started using the hardware! Sick of games being held back by 8 year old consoles. I bet AMD and NVIDIA also love this. For years you could run games extremely well with really old cards.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!