Jump to content



Photo

Trouble with "patch Tuesday"


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 static_geek

static_geek

    All this happened, ... more or less.

  • Joined: 23-January 02
  • Location: Dexter,Me. USA

Posted 09 October 2013 - 15:17

Anyone else not able to install any of the updates?

I tried 3 times installing all at once(just the important updates), and then i tried installing 1 at a time but the result(after restart the os would not boot)was the same.The monitor just blinks, but I get no start screen?!? Had to do a system restore each time.




#2 funkyspacecadet

funkyspacecadet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • Location: South Africa
  • OS: Windows 8 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 10 October 2013 - 07:28

Hey, signed up just to reply to this!

 

Yes, had the same problem last night, update froze at about 12% - then after about 15 minutes it said Rebooting.. and now I have the same thing, black screen after the Windows splashs creen.  The backlight of my monitor is going off and on, almost like it's stuck in a resolution change loop / power saving loop.

 

I can ping my machine from another one but I can't remote desktop into it.

 

I'll tinker with it when I get home from work, after my first repair/recovery I uninstalled some drivers that I recently installed thinking it may be related to the Radeon beta drivers I was testing, but - seemingly, since after removing the ATI drivers and then rebooting, then trying to update again, now I thinK I've lost the pre-patch tuesdays system restore point :\

 



#3 +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: MacOS 10.9 Mavericks
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 10 October 2013 - 07:33

Just did our first wave of updates in my enterprise last night - probably in the order of 150 servers, and no issues experienced so far.. but those updates are coming off a corporate WSUS server, and not directly from Microsoft. So not sure if the problem is with an update, or with their update distribution system..? 



#4 funkyspacecadet

funkyspacecadet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • Location: South Africa
  • OS: Windows 8 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 10 October 2013 - 07:38

Yeah I didn't have any issues on my Thinkpad T520 - all without a hitch.  I suspect it may be some unique hardware configuration or something else.  I'm not entirely sure.  Apart from the OP and myself, I haven't seen any other results via Google with this problem.



#5 gedstar

gedstar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-October 13

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:24

Same here, no issues, although I did noticed that it stalled at 12% for a while on both my Laptop and PC both running Windows 8, but rebooted just fine.



#6 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:29

There were some updates, but I didn't bother checking as it's set to download but let me choose when to install, and they just disappeared....

#7 leesmithg

leesmithg

    The Major!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:32

All installs for me installed fine, that was 28 hot-fixes, however it changed some driver on my external u.s.b. 3 2 t.b. h.d.d.

 

So I spent 2 hours sorting that out, to today (Thursday 30 hours later) it is fine.



#8 norseman

norseman

    Linux and Windows Admin

  • Joined: 26-May 03
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro, Enterprise and CentOS 6.7

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:35

I woke up to find my computer rebooted and saying all of the updates were completed and successful.



#9 funkyspacecadet

funkyspacecadet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • Location: South Africa
  • OS: Windows 8 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 10 October 2013 - 14:37

Meh, the restore point I have doesn't work now, same malarkey, boots to the splash screen, then instead of the login prompt I get the on/off/on/off like it's changing video modes non-stop.  Can't do a restore or even get into safe mode.

 

I can ping my machine, I can access it's remote shares.

 

I'm 99% sure it's not that the GPU has died or anything, possibly it's some ATI driver issue after the update.



#10 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1u1

Posted 10 October 2013 - 14:49

No problems installing at home, however, every one of our XP machines at work (about 15 or so remaining xp machines) is experiencing an untrusted relationship with our domain at the moment its very annoying.



#11 OP static_geek

static_geek

    All this happened, ... more or less.

  • Joined: 23-January 02
  • Location: Dexter,Me. USA

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:24

 

Meh, the restore point I have doesn't work now, same malarkey, boots to the splash screen, then instead of the login prompt I get the on/off/on/off like it's changing video modes non-stop.  Can't do a restore or even get into safe mode.
 
I can ping my machine, I can access it's remote shares.
 
I'm 99% sure it's not that the GPU has died or anything, possibly it's some ATI driver issue after the update.

 
That's the common denominator it seems ... the ATI cards Don't know what the solution to that would be tho

#12 funkyspacecadet

funkyspacecadet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • Location: South Africa
  • OS: Windows 8 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:30

   
That's the common denominator it seems ... the ATI cards Don't know what the solution to that would be tho

 

Jus tout of interest, are you using uxtheme patcher or any mods for Visual Styles?



#13 OP static_geek

static_geek

    All this happened, ... more or less.

  • Joined: 23-January 02
  • Location: Dexter,Me. USA

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:30

 

Jus tout of interest, are you using uxtheme patcher or any mods for Visual Styles?

 


Yes I am are you?

#14 funkyspacecadet

funkyspacecadet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • Location: South Africa
  • OS: Windows 8 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:37

   


Yes I am are you?

 

Yeah, I found some Google hits when I searched for this issue, but - may not be related.

 

When I first had the update fail on me, I recovered, uninstalled uxtheme patcher, some USB driver for a Korg synthesizer I have, and ATI - I wasn't sure and was just trying to remove new/potential culprits.

 

So obviously this gave me a new system restore point, the older one is no longer there, now I cna't restore at all.

 

Going to now see if I can hunt down the original system files and manually replace.

 

Weirdly though, after ux theme patcher uninstalling, nothing brong, and I also checked with sfc /scannow - but since I tried to update the last time, all the woes have really kicked in.



#15 funkyspacecadet

funkyspacecadet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • Location: South Africa
  • OS: Windows 8 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 11 October 2013 - 08:10

Update: I replaced all the files uxtheme modified, no joy.  Just for fun I moved out all the ati*.* files from system32, syswow64 and the windows root folder, same issues. Safe mode still will not boot (black screen).

 

Time to whip out the bootdisks and format the sucker and spend 30 hours reinstalling 500GB of audio software that I use.. fun!