Jump to content



Photo

What is the best 64bit Firefox browser?

firefox

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Damien R.

Damien R.

    XXIX

  • Joined: 20-July 02
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung

Posted 09 October 2013 - 15:21

I mean what is best. Pale Moon, Waterfox or is there more?




#2 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 09 October 2013 - 15:23

I mean what is best. Pale Moon, Waterfox or is there more?

 

SFIK, Waterfox is 64bit...

 

I heard that FF is developing their Firefox with 64bit in it and hopefully, plan to release it to public soon.

 

 

Edit: here is a link for info



#3 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:04

Cyberfox is another one. I used to use Waterfox but the large gap in updates due to bugs with the Intel compiler changed that. As of late I've been using 64-bit Chromium on Windows and it's actually pretty awesome.

 

Personally, I'd go in this order; Cyberfox > Pale Moon > Nightly x64 > Waterfox.



#4 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:18

I've tried all 64 bit variants of Firefox and in the end, I went back to Firefox official. The speed increase with the 64 bit versions are negligible at best and you are likely to experience compatibility issues from time to time.



#5 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:37

I wouldn't use any, they've always been buggier and slower than the 32bit builds (Although I'm sure that's improved)

Unless you're running out of the 32bit address space, you won't see any gains from moving to a 64bit browser.

#6 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:41

And any variants compiled with the Intel compiler won't see any performance improvements on AMD processors either.



#7 Dubstep Nixon

Dubstep Nixon

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Location: USA

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:52

Does a browser really need to access more than 4GB of RAM?



#8 ObiWanToby

ObiWanToby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-April 04
  • Location: Columbus, OH

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:56

Does a browser really need to access more than 4GB of RAM?

 

Unknown, but browsers are doing more than ever. 64bit is not just about registers and ram allocation. Same debate goes for does the iPhone really need to be 64bit?



#9 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 10 October 2013 - 02:05

Sooner or later they'll probably need access to more than 4GB of RAM. Them doing it now, I guess, ensures some form of future-proofing.



#10 OP Damien R.

Damien R.

    XXIX

  • Joined: 20-July 02
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung

Posted 11 October 2013 - 00:48

Cyberfox is another one. I used to use Waterfox but the large gap in updates due to bugs with the Intel compiler changed that. As of late I've been using 64-bit Chromium on Windows and it's actually pretty awesome.

 

Personally, I'd go in this order; Cyberfox > Pale Moon > Nightly x64 > Waterfox.

 

How did you get a 64bit version of Chromium...is that available to just download or do you have to compile yourself?



#11 Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 11 October 2013 - 07:53

How did you get a 64bit version of Chromium...is that available to just download or do you have to compile yourself?

 

Its available to download:

http://commondatasto...l?path=Win_x64/



#12 OP Damien R.

Damien R.

    XXIX

  • Joined: 20-July 02
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung

Posted 11 October 2013 - 16:17

Its available to download:

http://commondatasto...l?path=Win_x64/

 

Awesome, does that auto update?



#13 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 11 October 2013 - 16:32

I hope firefox switches over to 64bit within the next couple of years. XP support ends in march 2014, the vast majority of vista//7/8 users use 64bit windows so it would be nice if they ditched 32bit in 2yrs or so as it would give a ~10% speed improvement.



#14 Colicab

Colicab

    DGDesign

  • Joined: 25-May 03
  • Location: Glasgow Scotland

Posted 11 October 2013 - 16:55

I used them for a while when I first built my i7 rig, but tbh theres so little in the way of performance upgrade that when you eventually run into issues with plug-ins etc, you,ll probably just go back to plain ol 32-bit.

#15 Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 11 October 2013 - 16:57

Awesome, does that auto update?

 

Nope... Sorry... Once a day or twice, download latest mini_installer.exe from lowest folder and overwrite its installation. It works...





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!