illinois police interrupted speech low pay union protestors

• Please log in to reply
94 replies to this topic

#1 Hum

Hum

totally wAcKed

• 62,713 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:46

A single mother who has been working at McDonald's for 10 years was detained by police last week after she interrupted the company president's speech in Chicago to confront him about low worker pay.

Crain's Chicago Business reports that 26-year-old Nancy Salgado was part of a group protesting the event, asking company officials to raise worker wages to $15 an hour and allow employees to form a union without fear of retaliation.

Protestors were detained for an hour, threatened with arrest, and ticketed, according to Chicagoist.

Here's what Salgado said to McDonald's USA President Jeff Stratton: "I'm a single mother of two. It's really hard for me to feed my two kids and struggle day to day. Do you think this is fair that I have to be making $8.25 when I've been working at McDonald's for 10 years?"

Stratton's response: "I've been there [at McDonald's] 40 years."

Salgado told The Real News that she still works at McDonald's (although they cut her hours back) and she loves her job, but she wanted to speak out because she thought her voice needed to be heard.

"It gets harder and harder," she said. "Sometimes I can't provide a gallon of milk in the refrigerator."

source & video

#2 +Bryan R.

Bryan R.

Neowinian Senior

• 4,597 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:49

Hah. Some jobs are meant to have a high turn around for employees. If you're stuck in one of these jobs for 10 years, then it sucks to be you. They've clearly shown they don't value loyalty and that's their prerogative.

Also, maybe being a single mother of two kids isn't a "fault" of hers but she surely didn't happen by them on accident.

#3 rr_dRock

rr_dRock

Resident Magical Lion v1.2

• 884 posts
  • Phone: Galaxy SIV (CM11), iPhone 4S

Posted 10 October 2013 - 16:51