Jump to content



Photo

Partitioning problem in HP laptop HDD

partition hp hdd

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:06

partitioning problem:

 

I  have HP Pavilion dv6t-6c00 CTO Select Edition Entertainment Notebook , with Hitachi 750GB internal HDD.I installed the bundled recovery DVDs,Then deleted the recovery partition and HP partition to install Ubuntu LTS 12.04 and its swab partition.

 

2days ago, I deleted the boot partition =100MB, win7 partition and recreated Boot partition 100mb, 150GB partition to install win7 Home Premium from install windows Vanilla DVD Not Recovery DVDs.

 

I tried to create another partition for my data separately, But won't create inspite of the un allocated space 

 

hdd.png

 

Any solution?




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:08

You already have 4 primary partitions - that is the limit of those types. If you want more you would have to create a extended partition with logical inside.

See how your disk 1 is.. Or change your disk type to dynamic.. But I would not suggest that unless you fully understand what that is - and since your asking this question, that is unlikely ;)

on a side note -- what a mess, why so many partitions on your disk 1? Why not just folders called Series, Movies, Games etc.. Creating partitions only causes waste of space unless you can very accurately predict space requirements of your arbitrary types and are forced to place your files into these predetermined partitions..

I can see why you might have your OS partitions separate from data, but its better to just create a data partition and then just use folders for organization

What if you end up with more than 122GB of series, but only 40GB of Games?

You have 2 partitions on your first disk that are completely empty the 20GB and the 3.97GB (odd size??)

#3 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:10

You'll need to convert the disk to dynamic before creating the extra partition. To do this within Disk Management:

- Right click on Disk 1 (Grey area that shows the total size of your HD)

- Select 'Convert to Dynamic Disk'

After you've converted it to a dynamic disk you'll then be able to go and create the new spartition.



#4 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:18

See how your disk 1 is.. Or change your disk type to dynamic.. But I would not suggest that unless you fully understand what that is - and since your asking this question, that is unlikely ;)

 

You are right, I don't

 

 

You already have 4 primary partitions - that is the limit of those types. If you want more you would have to create a extended partition with logical inside.
 

I didn't intend to do so.But, can you suggest a free program to solve it?



#5 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:19

 

You'll need to convert the disk to dynamic before creating the extra partition. To do this within Disk Management:

- Right click on Disk 1 (Grey area that shows the total size of your HD)

- Select 'Convert to Dynamic Disk'

After you've converted it to a dynamic disk you'll then be able to go and create the new spartition.

 

 

Any changes/drawbacks?



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:22

Unless you understand what a dynamic disk is - NO I would not change to it.

As to create an extended partition windows can do that just fine.. Why do you have 2 empty paritions?? Just delete those for starters. You have 4 primary, you can not create anything more on that disk type. Delete one of the primary and then you can create an extended -- it will do it automatically actually.

here is extended partition help.
http://www.sevenforu...cal-drives.html


If me I would copy of your data you want to keep and start over -- that is a mess!!

#7 +LimeMaster

LimeMaster

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:25

Any changes/drawbacks?

You won't be able to install other operating systems onto a dynamic disk.



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:29

^ yeah if you want to dual boot say some linux distro, converting it to dynamic would not be helpful ;)

I really would rethink your whole setup there to be honest.. Why is disk 1 not just one big partition? Is that a FAT partition I see? WTF??

#9 Joe User

Joe User

    Lazy Joe's

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 29-May 07
  • Location: Somewhere in the US
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:31

 

You'll need to convert the disk to dynamic before creating the extra partition. To do this within Disk Management:

- Right click on Disk 1 (Grey area that shows the total size of your HD)

- Select 'Convert to Dynamic Disk'

After you've converted it to a dynamic disk you'll then be able to go and create the new spartition.

 

 

DO NOT DO THIS.

 

You'll break about a dozen backup and antivirus programs, not to mention breaking backwards compatibility with earlier versions of Windows and pretty much all versions of Linux.

 

Unless you're going to install another operating system, select the C drive and expand it to fill the empty space and be done with it. If you feel the need to have that many logical drives, then follow BudMan's instructions.



#10 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:35

I have a solution for you. Based on the 100% free space reported for two partitions at the end of your primary disk, you should delete them. You will then have fewer than 4 partitions on the disk, so you can either expand the primary partition to fill the remainder of the disk or create a new partition to fill the ~550 GB of free space. Next create folders on this new partition (or on your primary partition if you chose to expand that), and copy the data from the various partitions on your secondary hard disk into them. Now that you have a duplicate of all of the data on your secondary disk on your primary, you can create a new partition table on the secondary disk and fill it with a single partition. You can move the data back from your primary disk at this point if you wish. This strategy will not only allow make your partition layout drastically simpler, like BudMan has suggested several times now, but it will allow you to do so without reinstalling Windows or utilizing external storage.



#11 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:36

Unless you understand what a dynamic disk is - NO I would not change to it.

As to create an extended partition windows can do that just fine.. Why do you have 2 empty paritions?? Just delete those for starters. You have 4 primary, you can not create anything more on that disk type. Delete one of the primary and then you can create an extended -- it will do it automatically actually.

here is extended partition help.
http://www.sevenforu...cal-drives.html


If me I would copy of your data you want to keep and start over -- that is a mess!!

 

These 2 partitions are EXT3, Swap for Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.That is why they are both primary and undetected by windows.

 

I agree it is a mess.It 's been 4 years with the ext. HDD

 

DO NOT DO THIS.

 

You'll break about a dozen backup and antivirus programs, not to mention breaking backwards compatibility with earlier versions of Windows.

 

Unless you're going to install another operating system, select the C drive and expand it to fill the empty space and be done with it. If you feel the need to have that many logical drives, then follow BudMan's instructions.

 

Yes, I Won't do it.

 

^ yeah if you want to dual boot say some linux distro, converting it to dynamic would not be helpful ;)

I really would rethink your whole setup there to be honest.. Why is disk 1 not just one big partition? Is that a FAT partition I see? WTF??

 

I hadit like that and I want to reinstall windows without the hassle of backing up data in O.S partition

 

You won't be able to install other operating systems onto a dynamic disk.

That is why, I won't convert to dynamic



#12 +LimeMaster

LimeMaster

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 11 October 2013 - 21:40

That is why, I won't convert to dynamic

You could use VHDs, if you need more partitions.



#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 12 October 2013 - 13:18

Delete the 20 and 3, create an extended with logical and install linux into those.

 

Or delete them resize C to the size you want to use and leave the end of the disk unallocated and boot your linux media and let it create its own partitions.

 

Why did you need to create yet another partition?

 

If you want a os and data partition on C and 2 partitions for linux - which btw can be just 1 partition as well does not need a second swap partition - it could be just a swapfile just like window uses on any of its disks.

 

Why do you have the 100MB partition there - unless your using bitlocker you don't really need that, windows can be on just 1 partition.  So you have your C, your linux and swap that is only 3 primary partitions - and you can still have a 4th..  If you really wanted it that way.

 

As I said I agree with logic of OS part different than DATA -- but why the 6 different partitions on disk 1???  Makes no sense and I would follow xorangekiller advice in how to get if fixed up without having to use another disk, etc.