Jump to content



Photo

Upgrade Advice

advice upgrade feedback

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Premgenius

Premgenius

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-August 02
  • Location: Home

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:23

Below are the current desktop configuration, would you advice upgrading anything. The desktop is used for Storage, watching HD movies, FSX, photo editing (Photoshop & Lightroom) and very rarely video editing and day to day things as well as Virtualization when I'm preparing for exams.

 

Mobo: Asus P8H77-V
CPU: Intel Core i5-3470
RAM: Corsair 8GB
Gfx: Asus GTX 560 Ti DirectCU II
Sfx: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
HDD: Corsair Force GT 120GB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 600GB, 2x WD Black 1TB

PSU: Corsair HX850W
 




#2 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: #!Crunchbang Debian
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:32

What PSU do you have? Really nothing you need, for your usage.



#3 OP Premgenius

Premgenius

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-August 02
  • Location: Home

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:40

What PSU do you have? Really nothing you need, for your usage.

Corsair HX850W.

 

Updated original post



#4 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: #!Crunchbang Debian
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:43

Why do you want to upgrade anything?  The least thing you could do is get Haswell CPU's, but with that, you need a new board and OS install.



#5 OP Premgenius

Premgenius

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-August 02
  • Location: Home

Posted 12 October 2013 - 13:11

I was considering upgrading to a GTX 760 and maybe adding a second SSD for paging and scratch disk or upgrading to 16GB of RAM but there was no justification to it



#6 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 12 October 2013 - 21:02

I was considering upgrading to a GTX 760 and maybe adding a second SSD for paging and scratch disk or upgrading to 16GB of RAM but there was no justification to it

I agree with you?

 

Maybe you want a new case?



#7 Wam7

Wam7

    The First Ones.

  • Joined: 25-July 01
  • Location: U.K

Posted 12 October 2013 - 22:49

You really don't need to do anything for what you do with your system... maybe the only thing that might make a small difference is getting 16GB of RAM. I did notice a nice speed increase going from 8GB to 24GB. Windows takes advantage of the extra memory, currently using 8.5GB of RAM.  I also use a RAM Disk and move my tempory folder and browser cache to it.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!