Jump to content



Photo

ie10 windows 8, certificate error?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 MrWhistler

MrWhistler

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-June 02

Posted 12 October 2013 - 22:24

hi guys, using windows 8 with updates, and ie10, default install, no other plugins or anything, on occasion I get "Internet Explorer blocked this website from displaying content with security certificate errors"

 

I can proceed to show all content, when I went to the ms site for help it says this is often due to the site using a faulty certificate

 

any thoughts? thanks :)




#2 Seketh

Seketh

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-March 10

Posted 12 October 2013 - 22:26

hi guys, using windows 8 with updates, and ie10, default install, no other plugins or anything, on occasion I get "Internet Explorer blocked this website from displaying content with security certificate errors"

 

I can proceed to show all content, when I went to the ms site for help it says this is often due to the site using a faulty certificate

 

any thoughts? thanks :)

 

I got the same thing in Windows 8.1, it was Bitdefender 2013. Uninstalled it and problem solved.

 

If you really haven't installed anything, I have no ideia.



#3 OP MrWhistler

MrWhistler

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-June 02

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:04

yup, nothing like that installed, default settings and stuff



#4 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:08

I've had this same issue on occasion, not sure what's going on.



#5 OP MrWhistler

MrWhistler

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-June 02

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:11

I've had this same issue on occasion, not sure what's going on.

oh really, thanks, well at least I know something is not screwed up on my end ;)



#6 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:14

It happens sporadically.

 

Also using Win 8 and IE10.



#7 OP MrWhistler

MrWhistler

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-June 02

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:15

It happens sporadically.

yup, same here..........



#8 z0phi3l

z0phi3l

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: Android

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:18

The common factor is IE, just don't use it? 



#9 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:20

The common factor is IE, just don't use it? 

 

But, but it's the best browser in the whole wide world....  ;)



#10 +LimeMaster92

LimeMaster92

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Location: On a laptop
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro RTM with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:22

But, but it's the best browser in the whole wide world....  ;)

Wrong, Firefox is the best browser. :D

 

Also no certificate errors so far on Firefox 24. :)



#11 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:24

I haven't used Firefox in years.  May have to check it out again.  I use Comodo Dragon now and then.



#12 +LimeMaster92

LimeMaster92

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Location: On a laptop
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro RTM with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:28

I haven't used Firefox in years.  May have to check it out again.  I use Comodo Dragon now and then.

You should give it another chance as it has changed quite a bit over the years and it handles things better than IE does as this topic proves. :)



#13 tomasse

tomasse

    Kryptonian™

  • Joined: 30-October 12
  • Location: Hellas
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64 DesktopPC
  • Phone: Nokia

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:29

try this:

update/synchronize your systems date and time, and timezone (try with and without restarting) and and see if this fixes it.

(Date and time -> internet time -> update)



#14 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 12 October 2013 - 23:34

try this:

update/synchronize your systems date and time, and timezone (try with and without restarting) and and see if this fixes it.

(Date and time -> internet time -> update)

 

I received a timeout error using time.windows.com, changed to time.nist.gov, worked.  Thanks for the info!  (Y)

Lets see if I get the certificate errors.



#15 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 13 October 2013 - 08:58

You might get this only when logging in and registering on the site, because then we default to SSL (https) after you're logged in the site goes back to http though. So not sure when you would get this aside from logging in?





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!