Jump to content



Photo

Can my Vista PC support an 8.1 upgrade?


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 Winn00b4

Winn00b4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 13

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:04

I was wondering if my old Vista 32-bit home PC can handle the upgrade to Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit.  I'm terrified the old mobo, CPU, and/or RAM won't work correctly.  

Here is what I used to build it:

 

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

 

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

 

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-

 

EVGA 01G-P3-N959-TR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 Video Card

 

CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Power Supply

 

Western Digital WD Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

 

 




#2 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:06

You should use this:

 

http://windows.micro...sistant-advisor



#3 OP Winn00b4

Winn00b4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 13

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:10

Thank you shozilla.  I tried that and it seemed a bit generic, confirming that I can run Windows 8.  It didn't seem to address anything like the P45 chipset drivers or the BIOS version.  I may be worried over nothing, but thought I'd try and confirm that with the community.  Oh and I tried contacting Gigabyte, but no response, and they don't seem to have any documentation on their website regarding this board and Windows 8.



#4 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:16

Windows 8.1 will run fine on your PC, don't worry. You'll have to get used to the different user interface though.



#5 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:17

The assistant will tell you to see if Windows 8 can run on your system or not...

 

All do you is run the assistant app and wait for the answer ... then if you have windows 8 already, click close.

 

Then install 8 on it.



#6 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:22

https://encrypted-tb...kqDJBwWGPjhB_yk

#7 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:22

You should be fine. You're ahead of where I am and I have no issues.
Intel chipset drivers for discontinued boards can be found on downloadcenter.intel.com


I believe these are the ones for the 4-series.

#8 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:22

I'm mobile so sorry. :/

https://encrypted-tb...kqDJBwWGPjhB_yk

#9 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:37

Windows 8.1 will run fine on your PC, don't worry. You'll have to get used to the different user interface though.

 

The UI isn't any different then Windows 7, only the start menu. You are suggesting the whole UI is different, it takes no getting used to. So stop trying to spread FUD please.



#10 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:39

I'm mobile so sorry. :/

https://encrypted-tb...kqDJBwWGPjhB_yk


Still doesn't relate to the thread topic... :/

#11 OP Winn00b4

Winn00b4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 13

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:40

Thanks guys, it sounds like I should just grit my teeth, backup my files, and upgrade!

#12 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:41

Ya, I have an E7300 C2D and 3-series board and Win 8 works just fine. :)

#13 Lee G.

Lee G.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:45

If it can run Windows Vista with no problems then it'll run Windows 8.1 fine.

 

An E8400 is more than powerful enough.



#14 metallithrax

metallithrax

    I saw you earlier, with the hairy stick....

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 24-May 04
  • Location: Wherever I am at his moment in time.
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia U (android 4.0.4)

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:46

Simple answer is "Yes".

 

I am using:

 

AMD Athlon64 3500

Asrock 939Dual SATA2

Corsair Value Select 1GB (1x1GB) DDR PC-3200C3 400MHz Single Channel Memory Module

GeForce 9800GT

 

That's right, 1GB RAM.  Works fine, but obviously would benefit from more.



#15 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 13 October 2013 - 19:49

I know grey wolf, and I apologize. I had a big paragraph all typed out, but iOS wouldn't let me post for some strange reason. I'm sorry. I'll be home soon with a proper keyboard. My bad.