Jump to content



Photo

New lines not filtering through from Add Reply form [IE10]


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 C:Amie

C:Amie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 02
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:28

Hi,

I have noticed this for a few days.

When I reply to something in IE10, the post appears in the thread without any LF's (BR) visible. If I immediately edit the post and save (without making changes), the LF's reappear.

Screenshot 1 is what I sent (before I sent it)
Screenshot 2 is what appeared once saved
Screenshot 3 is what it looked like after Edit > Save

p.s. also note the two file upload controls, of which the left hand one doesn't work!

Attached Images

  • neowin-2.jpg
  • neowin-1.jpg



#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:34

I can't check as I don't have IE10, but is it normal that you don't have the usual editor settings in the reply box? In the past when that has happened to me I've found that clearing the browser cache resets everything and the editor appears again. Maybe that could be part of the reason for your line breaks not appearing?

#3 OP C:Amie

C:Amie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 02
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:44

Ah! Thanks Intrinsica that revises my thinking. It is likely content filtering from work which is causing the missing editor. In turn, as you say quite possibly the line problem. There is however clearly a difference between the processing for the Adder and processing for the Editor in the rendering.

#4 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 64
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:26

Did you try refreshing the page before editing?



#5 OP C:Amie

C:Amie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 02
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 18 October 2013 - 12:55

Before Editing, rather than adding? Yes. This post was refreshed before adding, so if there are multiple LF's it has made a difference, if not...